We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Ranked #147 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Booked this hotel using Avios. Went straight there on the 69 bus from the airport - going towards Sloterdijk Station, get off at Plein 40,45 and walk back - the hotel is on the right and is quite distinctive as its name suggests. You can pay the 2.70 euros to the driver on the bus, or if you get an IAmsterdam card or a transport card at the airport you can use that. Cheaper and less hassle than getting the train into Amsterdam then the bus or tram out again.

The room was surprisingly spacious, and nicely furnished. Twin beds, not doubles, but very comfortable. Only bugbear is that like most hotels, they insist on putting a 15 tog duvet in a centrally heated room, so you're either baking hot or too cold with no happy medium. I wish hotels would give you a top sheet, or a thinner duvet with an optional blanket.

Nice to see tea and coffee making facilities in the room, although next time I'll take my own mugs as they only provide espresso cups. We had to ask for refills as the housekeeping service did not replenish anything.

The breakfast is nice, with lots of choice including English breakfast and continental with lots of fruit, cheese, different breads and spreads. The evening menu is pathetic with nothing vegetarian apart from the soup!

We didn't sample any of the local restaurants as they didn't look too inviting with the exception of the one on an island on the canal at the back of the hotel, but it wasn't open when we went there on our first evening - not sure they do dinner.

Getting into the city is very easy with frequent trams and buses from almost outside the hotel. It's also a short bus journey to Sloterdijk station from where it's a 10 minute ride to Zaanse Schans, where there are lots of working windmills, quaint old houses and various craft museums - well worth a visit, and we were very glad we didn't go for the coach excursion as this meant we had time to enjoy it properly, taking the boat ride and visiting the chocolate factory as well. Definitely a good day out and it's only 4.20 Euros return each.

Overall a good compromise between convenience and cost.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank l0vaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    781
    297
    98
    76
See reviews for
284
637
80
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ZAGREB
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The hotel is a bit away from the center but the Metro and tram are close.
Rooms are spacious but cold- AC did not work.
Bathrooms are big and clean. Clean towels every day.Good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _G_o_g_a_goga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stayed here on a tour so can't really comment on the value, however this was one of the nicer hotels we stayed at. Apart from not being in the centre of Amsterdam is a good choice, the rooms were large, well decorated and the bed was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kierand80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed once here, it is reasonably good value for money as Amsterdam hotels are overpriced. Tram stop is 5 mins walk but the Metro can be reached only by tram.

The room was quite good sized, the decor and style is a bit old but everything was neat and clean.

Would stay here again if I find it again as the good price I did the first time

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gauravm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I stayed here with my Contiki group and it was probably the best hotel that we stayed in on our whole trip. It was a little bit far from the main part of the city (probably a 20 minute to 30 minute cab ride). It may turn others off that there are "contiki-ers" staying there, but it's actually a really nice hotel and didn't have very small cozy rooms like a lot of the other european hotels we stayed in.
Service was good and friendly, rooms were spacious and had very comfy beds.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mallory D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teeside
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We had a short break package in Amsterdam with DFDS. Booking presented many diffculties, but we finished up at the Best Western Blue Square. The hotel was said to be cheaper because it was outside the centre. It was supposed to be a short tram or bus ride from the centre.

The first problem was finding the hotel. We were taken to the Best Western Blue Tower which is about 4 tram stops away. When we arrived a visitor was being directed to the Blue Tower. Apparently it happens all the time! What on earth is the Best Western group doing with two similarly named hotels so close together in Amsterdam. An ergonomic disaster waiting to happen!

The hotel is well served by bus (to Central Station) and tram (Dam Square and museum district). Each trip costs almost 3 Euros and takes 30 mins. If you want to do a tour with coach pickup then you have to be ready at least one hour before departure, again a long way out so first pick-up. Get a day card for about 7 Euros and give it lots of use on the excellent public transport system. The hotel is actually set in a fairly quiet principally Turkish area, lots of restaurants but nothing obviously tempting.

Food at the hotel was acceptable both for dinner and breakfast. The choice for a la carte at dinner was a bit limited. Coffee seemed particularly good (quality and value) whether in the Restaurant or the Foyer Bar. Probably because of the prices the hotel seemed to be popular with school parties. Not really a problem but the restaurant was overwhelmed at times during breakfast.

The condition of the hotel was excellent and it was well-appointed. Things seemed to work fine and it was clean The only faults I found were low flow in bath, (use the shower to fill), and broken indicator lights around the lift. The bedrooms were well-equipped, the showers particularly good.

The outstanding feature was the friendliness, helpfulness and knowledge of the staff. Go for a room at the rear and ask for a bath (most have this after a tiring day in the city)

On balance its a pity about the distance out, because this hotel has many good facets. If you think you can tolerate the travel, try it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norherner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
#187 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,406 reviews
2.6 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#113 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,106 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
1.2 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.6 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
Address: Slotermeerlaan 80, 1064 HD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
He BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Blue Square is environmental friendly hotel and has a Green Key Silver status. The building takes it's name from the striking building in which it is located. The building was designed by architect Van Gool and dates from the seventies. Van Gool has undoubtedly explain that the only building in the characteristic blue color can be dyed. All 175 rooms are spacious, soundproofed and equipped with air conditioning, free wifi internet and free coffee/ tea facilities. You will find comfortable rooms with many amenities so that your visit is an experience that you would want to repeat. Whether you are staying in Amsterdam for business, or looking for a destination for a short break, this hotel is the perfect start to anyone visiting the city. We are located near the exit of the A10 S104. In just 15-20 minutes you are in the city area of the centre of Amsterdam. Sloterdijk Station is just steps away from our hotel and SchipholAirport, the RAIConvention Center, the Port and Passenger Terminal Amstedam (cruisschepen) can be reached in 30 minutes. At the BEST WESTERN Plus Hotel Blue Square we strive to provide the facilities you require, with little extras to make you feel at home in a friendly and welcoming environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing