We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Marveous cake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #9 of 80 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Marveous cake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff & delicious cakes. Little very classy bakery. Best lemon cheesecake in town. They also have home made chocolates

Helpful?
Thank Sayuriiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    64
    16
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It doesn't matter what your order, they're all excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stopped in here after being recommended from another guest at our hotel. We ended up going right at the end of our trip but I wish that we would've discovered it sooner because if I had known about it I would have literally gone there every day for their desserts and coffee.

We were a group of three and tried three of their slices of cake - I can't remember the names that he gave them but honestly if you go it doesn't matter which one you order, they are all delicious and you will want to try them

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wow one word”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stopped for an afternoon Coffee and cake and can recommend it. Rest your weary feet and enjoy, cosy and smart with quality pastry's ,Not helping my increasing wait line but worth it the experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“pseudo- french tourist trap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really like the " Negen Straatjes" since they are very cute with their unique shops and small cafés/ restaurants.
This time me, my partner, mother and sister, chose café Pompadour for a small break from exploring winterly Amsterdam.
The place itself is pretty small and we had luck to find a table for four. The prices here are pretty high, typical for tourist centres in big cities.
The cakes and pastries looked very pretty and tasty. Two of us also tried the cake and were very pleased. So why only 2 stars? well some things: me and my sister opted for the hot chcoloate and since this café sells also a big selection of pralines we were sure they would use real chocolate ( like the famous café Angelina in Paris). This was not the case and very dissappointing.
We also had the feeling we were rushed to drink/ eat fast that other people, who stood already in the café could get our seats.
Furthermore one of the waitresses cleaned the chairs and the table with the same cloth. This is pretty unhygenic and not nice to see. Also the toilet area was pretty dirty.

In my opinion there are nicer places to go to and it is not worth the money you pay for.
Therefore better avoid it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sumptous break on Christmas stroll through the 9 streets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Incredible baked goods along with perfect cup of Hot chocolate with whipped cream.Friendly staff. Beautiful assortment of truffels to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ursula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing