We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow one word” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #10 of 103 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
289 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Wow one word”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Stopped for an afternoon Coffee and cake and can recommend it. Rest your weary feet and enjoy, cosy and smart with quality pastry's ,Not helping my increasing wait line but worth it the experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    74
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“pseudo- french tourist trap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I really like the " Negen Straatjes" since they are very cute with their unique shops and small cafés/ restaurants.
This time me, my partner, mother and sister, chose café Pompadour for a small break from exploring winterly Amsterdam.
The place itself is pretty small and we had luck to find a table for four. The prices here are pretty high, typical for tourist centres in big cities.
The cakes and pastries looked very pretty and tasty. Two of us also tried the cake and were very pleased. So why only 2 stars? well some things: me and my sister opted for the hot chcoloate and since this café sells also a big selection of pralines we were sure they would use real chocolate ( like the famous café Angelina in Paris). This was not the case and very dissappointing.
We also had the feeling we were rushed to drink/ eat fast that other people, who stood already in the café could get our seats.
Furthermore one of the waitresses cleaned the chairs and the table with the same cloth. This is pretty unhygenic and not nice to see. Also the toilet area was pretty dirty.

In my opinion there are nicer places to go to and it is not worth the money you pay for.
Therefore better avoid it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sumptous break on Christmas stroll through the 9 streets”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

Incredible baked goods along with perfect cup of Hot chocolate with whipped cream.Friendly staff. Beautiful assortment of truffels to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ursula j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We live close by so when I don't want to bake, or want something special I pop in here. In the winter if you pre-order the day before, they will even bake fresh croissants! All the sweets that we have tried here are absolutely amazing, so are the jams! Love love love this place!

Helpful?
Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little pastry shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

I would definitely go back. Got one pastry to eat there and one for the road. Both were delicious. It was difficult to know what was what and chose so I asked about a few and settled on the ones I liked the best. Would have liked to know about all of them but did not want to consume that much of their time to go over them all.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing