We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Chocolate & cake to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #9 of 81 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate & cake to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A lovely little cake shop in the Jordaan district of Amsterdam,an excellent choice of fancy but delicious cakes,i had the creme brulee cake,my husband had the raspberry mousse cake,both were amazingly yummy,but mine was a bit too rich and i couldnt finish,but my hubby happily scoffed what was left of mine!!!
Very expensive(the cakes retail at 5.25 euro each) so two cakes and two teas will set you back 15.00/16.00 euro or so,but its really worth it if you want to treat yourself to something naughty!
The quality is amazing,the staff are warm and friendly.definitely worth a visit.
They also sell handmade chocolates,which are 9 euro for a small box of 6 chocolates,although i thought they looked good,at that price i wasnt going to buy them.
My husband bought a small bag of chocolate covered candied orange peel,that was 9 euro too,they were lovely but i dont think they were worth that much! Especially as i know where you can get quality chocolate in this city for slightly lower prices,but a higher quantity.
Not a place for the casual backpacker or student on a budget,but the perfect little treat for couples enjoying a romantic weekend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    63
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing chocolatier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A great place to get your dessert, the cake for that special occasion, a gift for the host and hostess, or just a treat for your self. A joy to step into this lovely shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cajo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york city
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pricey, but worth it. There is both a tea room and take out service, with lots of different fruit tarts,chocolate cakes and individual pieces of chocolate. No better place to buy a hostess gift!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 212kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best madeleines ever ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw this pretty pastry cafe while having a drink and snacks at the cafe opposite (also good), and the displays looked so delightful we were determined to try it out! We weren't disappointed. The pastries are a little on the pricey side, but the quality is worth it. We had the strawberry tart which had the sweetest, freshest strawberries on top and good pastry. And the madeleines were the best I've ever had - great texture and taste. Next time I'm buying a batch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Given that Amsterdam is never really warm, Pompadour's hot chocolate is a life savor for the dreary Amsterdam weather. Also recommend ginger tosti.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing