We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent chocolate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chocolaterie Pompadour

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #9 of 81 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
New york city
Level Contributor
57 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent chocolate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very pricey, but worth it. There is both a tea room and take out service, with lots of different fruit tarts,chocolate cakes and individual pieces of chocolate. No better place to buy a hostess gift!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 212kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    63
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best madeleines ever ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We saw this pretty pastry cafe while having a drink and snacks at the cafe opposite (also good), and the displays looked so delightful we were determined to try it out! We weren't disappointed. The pastries are a little on the pricey side, but the quality is worth it. We had the strawberry tart which had the sweetest, freshest strawberries on top and good pastry. And the madeleines were the best I've ever had - great texture and taste. Next time I'm buying a batch!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Audrey63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Given that Amsterdam is never really warm, Pompadour's hot chocolate is a life savor for the dreary Amsterdam weather. Also recommend ginger tosti.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic pastries in a lovely area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

The Pompadour is in the heart of the Negen Straatjes (9 Little Streets), a very nice area of boutique shops. It has a lovely selection of delicious cakes and excellent chocolates. My wife and I stopped for coffee and cake, the food was great and the service timely and friendly. Definitely a recommended stop!

Helpful?
Thank Tryppy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A chocolate lovers dream come true”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The pastries and such in this store defy review. They are works of art! And they taste amazing!!! We had a pastry with raspberry mouse that was absoulutely incredible. The mouse was so light and creamy it was like eating a cloud of raspberry. One of the locals was sitting across from us and overheard our conversation. She smiled and sid "this is one of the best in all of Amsterdam". I have to agree!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing