We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to gor for birthday cake when in Amsterdam”

Chocolaterie Pompadour
Ranked #12 of 106 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
372 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Best place to gor for birthday cake when in Amsterdam”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Get some chocolates in this lucious establishment, or better yet: go to the tearoom in the back and order a big pot of tea and a couple of wonderful cakes from the showcase in front, and take your time enjoying it. (I love the chocolate merengue!). It's like stepping back in time, enjoying luxurious sweets in the 17th century, very baroque, very nice, so don't be rushed!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seolram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    78
    18
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great chocolate, not so much the coffee”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

If you're going here just for the chocolate, it is perfect. The desserts look impeccable and taste fantastic. If you're eating in, the place is very cosy and relaxed so you should enjoy it.

From where we were sitting, I could see them make coffee. I was interested in ordering a cappuccino, however as I watched them make other orders I noticed two big mistakes IMO. They didn't clean the steam wand after using it, and they re-heated milk that was left over from previous orders. Note that I believe they also use the steam wand to heat milk for hot chocolates as well as coffee, so keep that in mind

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Had a wonderful cappuccino here after a morning of shopping. the cappuccino was served with a delicious little Madeleine-cake. After I finished my cappuccino I decided to treat myself to some chocolates. Bought 8 bonbons and they were all very tasty, not too sweet. It was quiet when I was there but I wonder how the two ladies who work here deal with a more crowded place. They did not seem to rush at all. However, they were very friendly. Next time I'll try some other chocolates or maybe some pastries.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Regina1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very good Macaroons but awful service.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The macaroons were fantastic but I had to wait 10 minutes to be served.
There appears to be only two very friendly ladies working here, so that means when one is serving tea, there is one person to handle all other tasks.

I entered the store and immediately saw what I wanted. Stood by the cash register and waited and waited and waited. The women working the front of the shop was carefully gift wrapping a bundle for a customer. She did so for 10 minutes while at least 8 people who could barely move due to the confined space were not even acknowledged.

So great desserts but you must be willing to wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichNJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

On a recent trip to Amsterdam we came across this wonderful place for a coffee and a delicious cake. There was so much to choose from it took us ages to make a decision. Once made we weren't disappointed.I opted for a chocolate orange florentine which was the best I've ever had. We had a second cappuccino each as it was so nice. Everything was beautifully presented and the establishment very clean. Can't wait to go back next time we are in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolaterie Pompadour also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Chocolaterie Pompadour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing