We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in 'Dam”
Review of Oriental City

Oriental City
Get food delivered
OR
Get food delivered
Ranked #928 of 4,569 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $23 - $47
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Centrum
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Whenever I visit Amsterdam, I have a brunch- DIM SUM (In some countries Yam Cha) in this restaurant. Beware of the Sundays, it will be very crowdy and there will be a queu at least for half an hour. Then take your line ticket and take a walk around the red light district ( no young children for these streets suggested). Good food, there is also normal dishes for your taste. App. 30 euros for 6 dim sum plates, for two person. Enjoy

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dmrbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Customer,

We are very delighted with the five stars review on TripAdvisor. We glad to be informed that you appreciate our DIM SUM.

We also appreciate it very much you take the time to send us a review on TripAdvisor.
It means so much to our team to hear a review like yours. They take great pride in their service efforts. It was our pleasure to have served you!

We are looking forward to your next visit!

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

364 - 368 of 1,127 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile

This place came highly recommended...The prawn toast was top quality. The Duck too; first class...No Special chow mein, so I opted for chicken chow mein not expecting too much, but nice and a pleasant surprise...The place was clean unlike most of Amsterdam and the view from the second floor window was nice. Yes, a bit pricey for Amsterdam's Chinatown in the red light district. Great restaurant in a not so great city....

Date of visit: August 2016
1  Thank Fidelscastrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your lovely five stars review on TripAdvisor!

We appreciate it very much that you have taken the time to send us a review on TripAdvisor.

It is very good to read that you enjoyed the prawn toast, duck and. chicken chow mein and the nice the view of the restaurant.

Although you don't like that much our city, we still hope to welcoming you again in the near future!

Yours sincerely,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

When we arrived the women directing us to chairs didn't crack a smile, or show an ounce of enthusiasm.

After receiving laminated menus with uninspiring images we start choosing what we want. The women eventually comes and serves us, simply asking 'Are you ready?' with no warmth or attempt at friendliness.

A second or two into me ordering starters she stops paying any attention and is distracted by the very loud new customers that have filled the restaurant with noise. I try to get her attention but she holds her finger up to me! Then after the customer has sat down a good 2 minutes later, no apology, just 'yes?'

Appalling service, if that's the care given to your customers god knows about the food!

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Lukemerrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

We were very sad to hear such news about our incorrect service. Of course, these issues have been discussed with the management and operational staff. We will certainly improve our services!

We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant. It helps us to make positive changes in our restaurant.

We hope we have informed you properly.

Yours sincerely,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

dim sum are with poor quality, very old decoration and not very clean overall. wifi is very slow. food is not very warm at the table

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tommy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant. It helps us to make positive changes in our restaurant.

We are very sorry that the Dim Sum and ambiance did not meet your expectations. We take this review very seriously and have informed our staff and management.

We hope we have informed you properly.

Yours sincerely,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile

We stopped in with no idea whether or not it would be good, as we had no cell service. The ladies who waited on us were sweet and fluent in multiple languages. We had curried chicken, chicken fried rice, and THE MOST DELICIOUS steamed pork buns I have ever had!! We will be grabbing lunch here again before we leave

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Chantalligator
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sukhar123, Public Relations Manager at Oriental City, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Customer,

Thank you for your lovely five stars review on TripAdvisor!

We are very happy you enjoyed our food especially steamed pork buns.

We look forward to welcoming you again when you next visit Amsterdam.

Yours sincerely,

In the name of Oriental City Restaurant Amsterdam
Brigitte van Cromvoirt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.