We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good food, buzzing and very central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental City

Oriental City
Ranked #570 of 3,371 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $23 - $45
Cuisines: Seafood, Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, buzzing and very central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After a good meal here early in our trip to Amsterdam we went back for a second on our last night. Admittedly, the service was a bit rushed the second time but the food was lovely on both occasions and we liked the size and atmosphere of the place. There were plenty of Chinese people which is always good to see! We had the 'Oriental Pearl' set meal for two which was 28Euros per person for dim sum, satay chicken and prawn, and two lovely main dishes with rice. The dim sum are apparently made fresh every day (which I hear is rare in central Amsterdam Chinese restaurants!) and they were certainly delicious. It is in a great location and overall we spend two fantastic evenings there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    205
    83
    39
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor service and hair in food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant showed promise as it was big with plenty of patrons. Unfortunately this was the WORST Asian food I have ever had. First of all, the staff were very rude and dismissive. Then our entree of spring rolls arrived and had a hair underneath one. We tried to get the waitresses attention to order some more drinks but were ignored several times. Then our mains came and mine had yet another hair in it. Besides the hair, the meal was very bland and I'm sure the chicken wasn't authentic chicken....... My friend had ordered pork which was mostly raw. I have worked in hospitality for many years, so I always speak up if something is bothering me as it is usually easily fixed. However after the poor service that we had received, I didn't even think it was worth the effort. On top of all of that, the meals were incredibly overpriced. With so many wonderful food options in Amsterdam, I would avoid this place and spend your money elsewhere.

Helpful?
1 Thank ellejay2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great night, great atmosphere, great food, great price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Right in the heart of Amsterdam City and just a short stroll from Dam Square, the location can't be faulted. The welcome was warm, friendly and genuine. There was a party happening on the next table for a large party of Chinese people, which added to the atmosphere. We were served quickly and efficiently, but without seeming rushed. When the food arrived it was good and plentiful and the prices were certainly reasonable, we paid 20 -22 Euros each for 2 courses + a glass of wine each. Give it a try. I don't think you will be disappointed

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeneagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Good, if average Chinese restaurant with somewhat distant serving staff

The food is very good, my only critism is that the set menu does not include aromatic duck and pancakes (one of my passions). Having said that the range was great

Good canal location (what isn't in the middle of Amsterdam) within walking distance of Dam Square or Rembrantsplein and next to the red light area

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Merlinthemage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
290 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Dim Sum at moderate prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We return to this restaurant whenever we are in Amsterdam. On 1st November we returned from Inverness to Zurich via Amsterdam and made it a point to make a visit to this restaurant which we know from the 1980ies! Its dim sum is good and reasonably priced and the quality has always been high! Service is friendly and when you sit on the window side you look down to the busy street and bridge which lead to the Dam square! The choice of dim sum dishes is good and the waiting time is reasonable. We will go back on our next visit to Amsterdam!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivano62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental City also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Oriental City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing