We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Beautiful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lieve Nachten B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lieve Nachten B&B
Ranked #85 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Como
2 reviews
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful house in a really interesting new area of Amsterdam, Ijburg, with a lot of silence and interesting examples of new buolding architecture, but at the same time very near from the center.
Kitty and Fred are wonderful homeowner and they will help you in every question and will give you a lot of advice.
The breakfast is large and delicious!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
19
35
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

If you have a very relaxed style, prefer to be detached from city center hustle and bustle and love quirky decorations unique to B&B(s), then Lieve Nachten is perfect for you!

Being a short tram (10mins-ish) ride from the Amsterdam Central station, is just enough to feel out of bombardment of any city center accommodation, but close enough for a short commute there and home after a day trip out and about the city.

For 10 Euros you can enjoy a delicious homemade organic meal with a huge selection of tea, good strong coffee, as well as organic locally made juices and jams on every table.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyBall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

B&B Lieve Nachten (“sweet nights”) is the most wonderful place you can stay in when you visit Amsterdam! Beautiful quiet residential area surrounded by a lovely park and water-land, yet only ten minutes from the central station by tram. The local Restaurant Cafe Vrijburcht is a real gem and you will also find a shopping area nearby.

The owners are very friendly and helpful and they both create a very relaxed atmosphere in the house. You can ask to have breakfast in the morning and you won’t regret it - it’s scrumptious, delicious and beautifully organic! Every room has a different character and decor, a great mix of modern and vintage. Architecturally exciting exterior as well as interior! Young, old as well as dogs are most welcome! Enjoy your stay cause I most certainly did!

Room Tip: Every room has its own character and decor so you can make a personal choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nushti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lieve Nachten is a eclectic unique building on one of the new islands of amsterdam; ijburg
Only 1 tram away from al the hotspots and in the middle of dutch nature.
The couple that runs this artistic but very modern place know what hospitality means.
The have the best breakfasts in town and are very helpfull in finding your way around.
Great place for everyone that enjoys the art of traveling,
Go there don't hesitate it's really great and what a rooms !

Room Tip: ask the owner for a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank remi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We felt very lucky to stay at Kitty´s & Fred´s interesting, original and cozy B&B
It made our short stay in Amsterdam very pleasant
We enjoyed a lot our triple room
Peacfull neighborhood, very easy and quick to get to the center
Wonderful yummy healthy home made breakfast. Thanks
We had recomended to our friends, sure they will like it
Hoping to go back

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lieve Nachten B&B is located out of the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam. There are many quiet paths where one can walk or bicycle along the water. One can dine at the restaurant at the end of the street. Our hosts more most hospitable, serving delicious breakfasts and giving helpful suggestions for sightseeing. The building was artfully designed by the hosts and some rooms have interesting objects from the hosts' travels. There is also free wi-fi in the library and a garden and fish pond in the back. I was glad to have such a comfortable home away from home while visiting Amsterdam

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heleng398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This adorable B and B is my favorite place to stay as I travel from city to city for business and pleasure. I go to Amsterdam annually, and each time I find myself looking forward to returning to Lieve Nachten B & B. It is owned and run by an exceedingly pleasant couple, Fred and Kitty, who have, themselves, built and decorated much of the interior, and it is their personal care which makes my, and our, stay so enjoyable. Each time I arrive, I feel I've "come home" once more. Travel can be tiring, but my stays there seem, instead, to be most relaxing.

It is particularly easy to reach this B and B when flying into Amsterdam. One simply takes the train (located at the airport) to Central Station, walks outside, and the 26 tram is there waiting for a 10 minute ride to the stop, two short blocks from the B&B. The sights of the city can later be easily reached by that same tram. The accommodations are comfortable and quiet, away from the noisy part of the city.

And what I appreciate most are the breakfasts, due to the camaraderie of the hosts, and the excellent variety of food--I can eat my own ordinary American breakfast there, but much prefer to sample the various Dutch offerings. You can keep to yourself during breakfast, or join others in conversation. Wonderful and unusual teas, or a robust cappuccino tops off the the meal. Several restaurants are located a short distance away, easily reached in the evening.

I love to poke around the city, shop and photograph the sites. The directions and advice offered by Fred and Kitty make that quite simple to do. After all, Amsterdam is a terrific place to visit.

In short, you can't go wrong at Lieve Nachten--a cozy, homey and relaxing spot in an otherwise bustling city

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdoc_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Waterpalace Boutique Hotel
#147 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Allure
Hotel Allure
#61 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#32 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#23 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
#228 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#112 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lieve Nachten B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lieve Nachten B&B

Property: Lieve Nachten B&B
Address: Jan Olphert Vaillantlaan 77 /79, 1086 XZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lieve Nachten B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lieve Nachten Hotel Amsterdam
Lieve Nachten Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing