We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food and strong beer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of De Schutter - CLOSED

De Schutter
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Brew Pub, Cafe, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Centrum
essex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good food and strong beer.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Down little side street with tables to front or upstairs.
We used only as quick food stop with beers. Good value compared to others.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant/bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had dinner there, and everyone of us ordered the "chèvre chaud" salad. The teabags on the ceiling are interesting! Loved this place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank gmarieeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Affordable, good location, and beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

After walking around the city, we stopped here for a few beers, some appetizers, and just relaxed. The place is a normal cafe, nothing fancy or out of this world. I did, however, find it amusing that there were tea bags on the ceiling.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Living2Travel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
714 reviews
385 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“"Brown cafe"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a typical, no-nonsens Amsterdam cafe / bistro. Worth a visit if you like to sample the atmosphere of the city. Good value for money, but don't expect a high flyer.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfred V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A very nice place to read, or to have a few beers.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A very nice bar, where you can read and write in a quiet environment during the day, and have a few beers at night in a cosy atmosphere. the smoking area is really cosy and nice, and we loved the fat cat looking for strokes :)
didn't try to eat though, but it is a place we recommend.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grosfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Schutter also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing