We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #99 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

this branch of the novotel chain has a very contemporary and interesting lobby/main level with lounge area, bar and restaurant. conveniently located at the very southern border of amsterdam, it is close to main routes and trains to get around. 10 minutes to the city centre by bike.

rooms are adequately appointed and clean. the main level of the hotel is much nicer than the rooms but overall the hotel is quite good. internet is free and decent.

the best part of this hotel is BREAKFAST!!!!!!!!!!!!! treat yourself to b'fast at least once for a feast.

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be pretty similar...no views or balconies to be had here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SNV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear SNV2,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

Positive feedback from satisfied guests is our greatest reward - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    1,156
    347
    89
    49
See reviews for
617
482
114
684
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed while attending conference in Rai. The rooms are very clean if basic, but perfectly adequate for a short visit. The staff are very polite and service is excellent. Restaurant does feel a but like a school refectory but the food is ok. Check in was slow, but softened by the arrival of var staff with some juice samples. A nice hotel that I would use again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Dan G,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvsisor and share your experiences. I am glad to read you had a nice stay.
Regarding the slow check in; my sincerest apologies for that. If you will visit us again, please be informed that we have the possibility to check in online. This will avoid any waiting time.
Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

I stayed at Novotel, Amsterdam from 19th June to 23rd June 2014. I had 3 Double Bed Rooms there (nos.1511, 1512 & 1513). Though the Property is in bit outskirts, but a Metro station RAI in walking distance doesn't let u feel that u r far from the city, I was given a beautiful welcome, I cannot forget the generous lady who helped me check-in. She was very kind and guiding us every bit of Amsterdam. The staff was very courteous. The amenities & facilities were outstanding. I would give Five Star rating to this property. I wish all the Staff a Big Thanks & all the Best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnitGrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear AnitGrover,

Thank you very much for your kind words! I am glad you had a wonderful stay at Novotel Amsterdam City! Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future in Amsterdam and give you the same, or even better, experience!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just a 5 minute walk to the Convention Centre. Hotel is very easy to get to by train from the Schiphol Airport, just two stops away. The hotel is very modern and opposite parklands. Rooms are spacious and clean. Dirk supermarket close by and opposite the convention centre in the Roc Building.

Room Tip: Request a high floor overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPGE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear JPGE,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay with us. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This hotel has a very modern feel about it. The furniture and decoration is colourful and very 'clean' looking. Staff at the hotel are very polite and helpful. The room I stayed in was large with plenty of storage space. The bed was comfortable. The shower was lovely. The hotel is very clean. I had some good meals in the restaurant and the price was reasonable. A walk to the city centre will take around 30 minutes comfortably. Public transport is nearby if the walk is too much

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdsfinance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear pdsfinance,

Thank you so much for your positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had such a good stay with us! Hopefully we could give you the same, or even better, experience in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stayed at Novotel for two nights. The hotel is located in a nice, peaceful locality, a short metro ride from the Amsterdam main station (Line 51, station Rai). The room was very spacious, clean and well furnished. The hotel staff were very friendly. Quick check-in. The tram station (line 4) is very close to the hotel.

The bathroom was spotlessly clean and had good amenities. The room also had a mini fridge that had only two bottles of water (one still and the other sparkling). The fridge was not working though. Wifi went on and off, but manageable.

The breakfast was excellent, good variety and value for money (included in our tariff). However, we could hardly see any restaurants in the neighborhood. Better to have lunch/dinner at one of the numerous ones in the city centre.

Overall, highly recommended for a stay away from the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PradeepMumbai_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear PradeepMumbai_India,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Good to read you had a nice stay at our hotel!

My sincerest apologies to read your fridge did not work properly and the WIFI was not working how it supposed to be.

Regarding restaurants in the neighbourhood; Restaurant Bellini (Italian), Korean Garden, Bolenius etc. There are also several restaurants near by station Zuid WTC. Our reception staff is more than helpful to give you our best addresses and direction.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skien, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Overall impression:
Functional and good hotel, no individual touch however, but a hotel representative of what you will expect from a large hotel chain. Friendly and service-minded staff.
As with too many hotels these days, I missed the small clothes for personal washing at the bathroom. For 229 Euros per night this should have been a natural part of the service.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Hans A. H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Hans A. H,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated. Regarding the face towels; indeed we do not have these in the bathrooms. Due to the fact we are ISO 14001 certified (Planet 21, the Accor sustainable development program) we can not provide these face towels. We do have tissues in the bathroom which is a reusable material.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Dirk B.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,629 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#133 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,239 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 987 reviews
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#64 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing