We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to airport! Public transport in arms length. Quality hotel with great customer service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Amsterdam City to your Saves list
Novotel Amsterdam City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
UP TO 30% - EARLY BOOKING
Ranked #96 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Close to airport! Public transport in arms length. Quality hotel with great customer service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

2 night stay here in April, on check in received a free upgrade to suite room which was nice and large with double basins bathroom which was nice!

Internet was a little slow however free.

In first impression hotel was a little far from cbd however at arms reach with public transport only 20-30 mins. Close to airport for those wanting easy access!

Nice bar and morning buffet was extensive with eggs cooked to your liking.

Fitness facility was good and quiet should you wish to work out!!

See you next time!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayrod22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear jayrod22,

Thank you for your positive review. This is very much appreciated. I am glad to read you had a nice stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. Our hotel is indeed easily reachable by train from the airport. It will take you just 10 minutes.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our engagement and booked it online. On arriving the hotel is more like a business conference style hotel and very basic. The staff had no interest in the guests. Main bug bear for us was that the hotel is located quite a distance from the main town. You couldn't walk it and it cost us a fortune in taxis each day getting to and from the main town. If you want a hotel with the fantastic buzz and charm amsterdam has to offer - don't book this one :0)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andieb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Andieb78.

First of all; congratulations with your engagement! Secondly; thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read you were disappointed by the location of Novotel Amsterdam City. Indeed, we are not located in the city center (which is clearly explained on our website). Instead of taking the taxi (what is pretty expensive as you have mentioned), you can take the tram or metro to go to downtown within 15 minutes. It will cost only € 2- € 3 and the tram stop is only a 4 minutes walk.

Goodluck with your preperations for your wedding and wish you all the best!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The hotel isn't within Dam Square nor that close to the city centre, however it has a tram station near by where you can catch a tram that takes you to the heart of Amsterdam. As I went during the New Year in December 2012 and celebrated 2013 out clubbing, the trams were closed, Ihad to walk all the way back to the hotel which took over an hour. In terms of amenities the TV is of a decent size along with having a decent quality in pictures. The gym is not the biggest of gyms however if you want a short workout then the gym is sufficient. The hotel bar has an assortment of drinks which are reasonably priced and the bar staff have sufficient knowledge of drinks and are more than happy to offer suggestions. The room itself has an average bathroom but the beds are more than comfy and the sound of the outside passing of cars is nonexistent. Overall it's a good hotel with a variety of amenities but I wouldn't recommend it for those that want to be close to attractions.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Amritpal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear AmritpalH,

Thank you for your detailed review on TripAdvisor. Indeed, our hotel is not located in the city center, but just a 15-20 minutes ride by tram. For those who would like to retreat from the crowd, Novotel Amsterdam City is perfectly located.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The romom is old and samll, and also the Wifi didn't work. But the service is fine, as a compensation, i was allowed to use the cable connection free of charge. The door is Squeaking and waken me at midnight. This should be improved. However the breakfest is excellent.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Robin L,

Thank you for your review. Our apologies the Wifi didn't work and the squeaking door. I have discussed this within our technical department.

Hopefully we could give you a better service during your next visit!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tehran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Recently I had a visit of Amsterdam for a scientific research. I had a 5 night stay in this hotel and I am very unsatisfied about the management! On all displays of the hotel we see advertisement about "customer services" but when you come to reality you feel much less! I have a completely different sense compared to services I observed in Park Hyatt Dubai.

Of course, during my stay at Novotel I informed the internal manager of the hotel about inconveniences happened and he promised to not to let repeating such problems in future. But, I would like to inform other guests about the existing situation at this hotel. My comment is as follow:
1) read all conditions about costs, in advance. For instance, take care that "breakfast" is not inclusive in prices, generally;
2) receive a receipt while speaking with receptionists to be able to prove what hav spoken about and what decisions are taken by him/her.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank masoud46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear masoud46,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. My sincerest apologies you did not have the experience in our hotel which you should have as our guest.

Unfortunately I can not read what happened exactly. If you would like to send me any details, you could contact me directly on H0515-am@accor.com

Hopefully we could give you a better experience in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I often stay in Novotels. This time I paid a supplement to upgrade to an executive room on the top floor, but I was disappointed that it was quite small by Novotel standards, and the toilet was not separate from the bathroom, as I've come to expect with a Novotel executive room (this was an issue with one adult and two kids sharing a room). The wifi signal was also very weak in the room. It's far from the centre of Amsterdam, in a very modern zone by the motorway, but metro and tram links to the centre are very good, so that's not a major issue. On arriving, they gave us a ticket for a complimentary drink at the bar, but only one complementary drink to share between the three of us, so it felt like a trick to get us to pay for two drinks in the bar. Otherwise, everything fine, as you would expect with a Novotel. I would use it again, but I wouldn't pay extra for an executive room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Belgo43,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you were disappointed about our Executive rooms. Eventhough the size is the same, this upgrade has much more facilities and services: bathrobe and slippers, extra/luxury toiletries, minibar, Nespresso machine, a bottle of water and on request a news paper.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#124 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#58 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing