We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #125 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I had 3 days on this hotel during a business trip.

This is definitely a high standard hotel. Everything was pretty good and above average.
Nice rooms.
Friendly staff.
Good service.
Taste dishes and breakfast with a lot of variety at the Hotel restaurant.
Close to tram and train station.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Dan R,

Thank you very much for your positive review. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    808
    1,330
    424
    109
    70
See reviews for
727
563
124
815
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hello

Hotel is located outside the city but close to a main train station. Nothing around in the evening except empty banks. The place is big... very crowded...many people from airlines companies ( delays, cancellation, etc....) so could be very noisy and busy in the lobby. You can even queue to go in one of the elevators. The place is very big, so forget about personalized services or romantic getaway. The restaurant on the ground floor delivers good food, decent pricing and good service ( even if possibly crowded). There is a parking facility which is convenient. Room has quite standard, nothing special to report. It's a business and or stopover place. The elevators are abit old ( door not opening...) or tired.....the place is quiet except if you are unlucky and being settled next to busy groups.... Free interent wifi everywhere..cabled internet for a low daily fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mannecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear mannecker,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

Nearby the RAI, which is a 10 minute walk, are a few restaurants and bars to fulfill your evening. Furthermore, we are indeed a big hotel with 610 rooms. Nevertheless, we always do our utmost to give every guest personal attention and to give them an unforgettable experience.

Hopefully we could welcome you in the nearest future to give you that experience!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 night 12-14Apr..stay here many time good point is just two train stop from airport so it very convent to travel to/from airport..this hotel is up to novotel standard..during check in was inform our room still not ready and offer extra ?30 to upgrade ans since travel with my wife so accepted the offer..well except the free mini bar drink n expresso machine is add on..nothing is different from those room I usually stay here..same size,same design,same view...
Avoid the upgrade offer n everything will b fine for this hotel..good breakfast,stronginternet,clean convent etc...

Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Vincent C,

Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a nice stay.

Please let me explain benefits of a room upgrade. Our Executive Novation room have added products and services: located on the top floor, double bed, bathrobes, slippers, luxury toiletries, Nespresso, free WiFi internet, minibar, media package and a bottle of water. Upon request free newspaper is available.

Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 days while visiting Amsterdam withy the wife. Room was very clean and room service was great.

Hotel very close to tram, metro and train. (About 5mins walk) giving easy access to the city.

Beautiful park right across the road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear John M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future at Novotel Amsterdam City!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Myself and three friends have just returned from a 4 night trip to Amsterdam where we stayed at this hotel. We all really liked the hotel and had a lovely stay in the city.

Although it is slightly out of the way it's not much hassle to use the public transport in the area. For instance we used the Tram system for our entire stay. The hotel is a 10 minuet(ish) comfortable walk away from the RAI station which is literally just down the road. This is about 20 minuets on the Number 4 Tram into Rembrandtplein which is a square full of Cafes, Bars and Resturants as well as a few shops. Additionally the hotel is around 30 minuets into the city centre, again on the Number 4 Tram. The tram is also fairly cheap - it's 12.00Euros for a 48 hour pass.

The room in the hotel as to a good standard. Myself and my friend shared a twin room and the other two had a double room which were both lovely and spotless. The beds were really comfortable to sleep in and had either soft/hard pillows available. The rooms all have TV's, Coffee/Tea making facilities and Mini fridge in them. Also the bathroom was really nice and had a large Bath and Shower combined, Hairdryer and also some toiletries.

The communal areas were really clean, tidy and well facilitated. The hotel has a bar and restaurant, although we didn't eat or drink in them. They also have a small snack bar selling sandwiches, drink and snack items. The hotel also has a nice little tourist type shop selling a variety of things. Also available for use, although we didn't use it, is a gym. They also have computers in the reception area and free wifi to use which we had no issue using in our rooms on the 8th and 3rd floors as well as outside of the hotel and in it's reception areas.

The reception staff are lovely and really helpful. They provided us with everything we needed - including lending us umbrellas and plug adaptors! and they were also available for us to ask questions like directions. Also really helpful and friendly on check-in and check-out which made the stay easier and more enjoyable.

Overall - top hotel with brilliant staff! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Joanna E,

Thank you very much for such a positive review. This is really appreciated by me, but above all our staff. Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#104 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,010 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#143 of 367 in Amsterdam
4,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing