We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good clean and friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #110 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidenhead
Level Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good clean and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here as I was organsing an exhibition at the RAI. Very close to the tram which take you directly into the centre of Amsterdam. Nice friendly staff and the room was very comfortable. Restaurant was very lovely especially for drinks and grub after a long tiring day at the RAI. One thing that really stood out for me was the quirky decor and modern furniture. It will make a good base for business as well as pleasure as its so close to the city and great transportation links.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelustgirl2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear maidenheadexpat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor. I am glad to read you had a wonderful stay.

I am looking forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Amsterdam City.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    1,224
    377
    91
    53
See reviews for
654
510
119
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

me and 2 friends stayed here for 2 nights and we were very satisfied with everything! The breakfast buffet specially was top. Service very friendly & helpful. Very clean from the room to the wellness area. really enjoyed staying here..thanks to novotel team!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YnaClarenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Yna_Clarenz,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a positive review on TripAdvisor. This is very much appreciated, also by our staff.

Looking forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Amsterdam City

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed at the Novotel for two days last June while visiting several countries in Europe. Although the hotel was not near the city center it is near tram #4 which was only a 15 minute ride into the city and a 24 hour pass was only 7.50 euros. Over all the food, rooms and service were very good although the bar and restaurant were just a little pricy. This is a hotel that we will stay at again if we ever return to the beautiful city of Amsterdam but alas there are many countries left on out bucket list.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitude38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Latitude_38,

Thank you very much for you positive comment on TripAdvisor. Positive feedback from our guests is our greatest reward.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel Amsterdam City.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have always stayed in hotels in the city, but as I had an appointment close to the RAI I chose this hotel. The lobby and bar/restaurant appear to have been totally redone. The staff is very friendly, and also at the bar they are simply very helpful and it isn't such a bad place to have a drink. The rooms are very clean, typical Novotel. So it's always the feeling of just not that great, but then again, it is great value for your money, especially if you can stay on the uppor floors where the minibar comes for free, and you have Nespresso machine available. The location is of course largely dependent on where you need to be. For tourists, I wouldn't recommend it. Plenty of other choices in the city, even though you have tram 4 which brings you to the city in less than 10 minutes, or by cab it is a EUR 20 ride, so all very possible after all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cis_Lux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Cis_Lux,

Thank you so much for your positive review for Novotel Amsterdam City.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
(General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

You get what you expect from this Novotel. Its not flashy, or luxury, but its a good, decent, 4 star hotel.

Reception staff were very friendly and helpful (although not too knowledgeable about how to get tickets for Ajax games), the room was neither large nor small, and both the sleeping area and the bathroom were clean and functional.

The hotel is easily accessed from Schiphol, just 10 minutes / 2 stops on the train, and handy for visitint any of the businesses in the area around the Amsterdam ArenA. If you want to do tourist Amsterdam you will probably want to be more central.

One final word for room service - unusually reasonably priced (€10 for a pizza) and very tasty with it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CityGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear CityGent,

Thank you for your review! Hopefully we could welcome you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxemburg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

I am attending a trade show at the RAI.

This is a practical hotel with moderately comfortable but functional rooms. Its close enough to walk to the trade show in 10 minutes and on a brisk february morning.........not sure about in the dead of winter.

Its too fare from the city to call a tourist hotel

Rooms ok but small, as i said functional but "in an economical "way.

I hate the pillows...............I need soft and feather filled ....these are polythene and hard.....not a fan of Novotel bedding at the best of times.

The restaurant area modern with very friendly staff and a reasonable menu....I am fussy and do like to eat well............This was OK. perhaps due to the volume of people the service was a little slow and sometimes the server unresponsive....forgive the first time.

As I always end ........would i come here again........yes........its practical for the location and the trade show visitor.

Value for money.........not this time........as always room rate take a hile at peak trade show times............Euro 219 a night.

Room Tip: ask nicely for an upgrade with F.O.C minibar, internet and TV.....worked for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Paul W.,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about Novotel Amsterdam City.

I am sorry to read you did not like the pillows in your room. We do have a pillow menu, so you can choose of different types of hardness and softness.

Glad to read our staff was friendly which is very important.

Hopefully we could welcome you back again in the nearest future!

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

I've spent here a few months in the begining of 2010 when we have a project in Amsterdam. The hotel was a fix point when we booked an other week at the client. After a while the staff was recognizing us even if there are a lot of business traveler who are choosing this hotel. We have tried quite a few other places as well but this was the best choice. It is close to the metro and Rai conference center. The rooms are just perfect. Comfortable and clean. The staff is really for the guest here. They are very friendly and helpful. The restaurant and the bar is also excellent. Highly recommended to everybody, especially business travellers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gyugyesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Gyugyesz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#133 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing