We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #108 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Staying here was so easy because it is close to the tram stop and easy to get into the city and move around Amsterdam. Breakfast is really great and we had a good stay here. Was a bit annoying having to sign a document stating that you wont use drugs in the hotel but aside from that, nice hotel, ok staff, and easy access to town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear SheriLein,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    1,224
    377
    91
    53
See reviews for
654
510
119
730
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Novotel while at a business conference in Amsterdam. There are 2 good things about the hotel, the lobby (nicely designed) and breakfast which was pretty rich. The rooms are small, and location is really bad and far from anything central. Don't stay in this hotel while on vacation

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Nadav L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I am sorry to read the location did not meet your expectations. The tram stop is only 5 minutes walking distances and brings you within 20 minutes to the city center. An other optioin is to rent a bike at the reception, which is typically Dutch. In this way you can explore the surroundings, for example the 'Amsterdamse bos' and the Rijksmuseum (10 minutes by bike).

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very good weekend-deal on family making city trip to Amsterdam. Downtown Amsterdam is lnly tram-ride away (20 minutes). Rooms are spacious, breakfast copious and parking easily to be found with the hotel being located right by the ring road.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geertvdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear geertvdh,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This was such a horrible experience, would not repeat it ever! There were three of us sharing one tiny room with a double bed and a sofa bed. It was room 716, the carpet had such bad stains on it over by the window. The room is really old fashioned and badly in need of an update. The bathroom has no lock on the door. I asked at reception if we could change to a room with three bed or even two real beds and I was amazed that for such a huge hotel with such a large amount of rooms it does not even have one room with more than one bed, as I was told at reception, a joke. Reception was so unhelpful, basically laughed at me and dismissed me when I told them how unhappy I was with the room. We have another 3 nights left in this hotel and I am not looking forward to it but we are stuck here now as the hotel is prepaid for. We ate in the restaurant last night, food is good, restaurant stylish and modern but service very slow. The hotel is not very central, takes a 20 minute tram journey from central Amsterdam, I would never stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Neil Ross S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your experience at the Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Novotel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

As I can see in your booking you have made a reservation through Booking.com. In the description of our superior triple room is written:

Room size: 22 m2
Bed size(s): 1 sofa bed, 1 large double bed.

In this way we inform all of our (potential) guest what they could expect of a superior triple room.

Regarding the carpet, we are renewing our carpet in phases.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were a travelling party of 3 (2 x adults and 1 x child) and booked a room with a double bed and a sofa bed for two nights in Dec-13. The hotel is conveniently located on the last stop of the tram line No. 4 (RAI) and it is a 15min ride to downtown with trams running every 5 – 10 minutes until late. Also being on the outskirts of downtown you are paying 3-star hotel rates for a 4-star hotel! Staff super friendly and efficient! Buffet breakfast which was included in the deal we got off hotels.com was divine!

Room Tip: There is a tram stop in front of the RAI station but the tram goes on a little further down to a sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybeegee66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear James B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

Best regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#132 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#127 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
Element Amsterdam
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing