We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain Wrap at Novotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #121 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

My husband and stayed at the Novotel Amsterdam City earlier this month, as he was attending a conference at the exhibition center. This is a plain wrap business person's hotel. From the outside, the hotel resembles old soviet block style apartment housing. The rooms are bland and without character or charm. The amenities in the room are Motel 6 -- bad, smelly soap, plastic preformed tub/shower/sink, limp shower curtain. Daily maid service was late and poor. There were still hairs in the bathroom sink and on the floor after cleaning. The only things this place has going for it are its proximity to the conference center, its size (huge -- good for large groups), its excellent breakfast, and a few lovely front desk attendants. If you are a tourist, do not stay here -- it is a good 15-20 minutes by cab in to the center of town, a 45 minute walk. If you are staying here as part of a conference, I hope you won't have to spend much time in your hotel room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenya2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 2,924 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

location is very good, Tram 4 to the center is just a few walk in a safe area, reception staff very helpfull always with nice smiles, Breakfast is considered the best among Novotel international , Taxi 24/7 at the hotel entrance with normal prices, rooms are clean , we really enjoyed our 3 nights stay in this lovely city , thanks to all the staff and the management.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Mohamed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is a business orientated hotel, that clearly understands and caters for the business traveller.
Excellent staff in the reception and restaurant areas.
Rooms are reasonable sized, well equipped and very clean.
Free WiFi was good.
Breakfast was good ( we were charged extra) but can get busy, between 08h00 and 08h45. This also applies to the bar area in the later part of the evenings, and the bar staff were unable to cope at times.
While hotel is out of main tourist area, it is very close to train station and tram stop ( Tram No 4) that takes you to the main Station and tourist areas, within 20 minutes.
Tip - they advise you to checkout and pay, the evening before you leave, if there is a conference taking place - heed this advise, or you could wait 20 to 30 minutes to check out!
Overall a good experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this property on a quick trip to Amsterdam for a trade show at the RAI. Very convenient location and easy to get to and from the airport by train. Hotel has good food and a decent bar for meetings. Would return if going to RAI again but would not be my choice for a personal break as its away from the city. Tram gets you into the city easily but main attraction is the proximity to the RAI. And yes they price it accordingly making it a rather expensive option - there are other options near the RAI which should/could be considered.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam. As you mentioned, there are many options for staying in a hotel in Amsterdam, though we believe you have chosen the best option.

Secondly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. I am glad to read that we were able to provide you with a good base for your visit and that our goal of providing both leisure and business facilities seems to work. You rightly state that this does come at a cost, and that cheaper facilities are available, but we gladly take up the challenge to prove that Novotel Amsterdam City offers the best value for money all things considered.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. If you are a member of our LeCLub Accorhotels program, we might even be able to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip wich took place in RAI. The hotel is five minutes walking from RAI station and RAI Amsterdam congress center.
The hotel is new, elegant and confortable, with nice and friendly staff.
The rooms are not very big but confortable with excellent beds.
Breakfast was good
It's a bit far from town center, getting there it's simple by TRAM (nº4) or Metro but comming back at night requires a taxi (16 to 20 € ) if you return after 00.30h.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cusco43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip, and enjoyed my stay, however, I would not stay here if I were a tourist in Amsterdam as it is a bit out of town.
nice hotel, and very nice staff.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
One thing that drove me crazy though was the thimble sized tea cups!!!... Please get bigger cups, I can't stand having to refill my cup 5 times just to have a normal rekaxing cup of tea at breakfast - it is quite stressful actually!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntoniaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

close to Amsterdam Rai train station, which is 15 min from Schipol by train. breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice and excellent fresh fruit. bar has good service, but closes at 1am, and all were asked to go to front lounge to finish drinks. room was good sized, and exellent bed for a good night's sleep. everything worked and for business traveller, it was an excellent hotel. staff was very helpful. taxi stand is just outside the hotel - taxis are expensive in Amsterdam so beware! trams are best value to go from hotel to amsterdam city centre,

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#105 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,183 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#154 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,337 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#75 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $121 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing