We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good But Pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #93 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good But Pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed at this property on a quick trip to Amsterdam for a trade show at the RAI. Very convenient location and easy to get to and from the airport by train. Hotel has good food and a decent bar for meetings. Would return if going to RAI again but would not be my choice for a personal break as its away from the city. Tram gets you into the city easily but main attraction is the proximity to the RAI. And yes they price it accordingly making it a rather expensive option - there are other options near the RAI which should/could be considered.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50nightsperyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,

Firstly, I would like to thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Amsterdam. As you mentioned, there are many options for staying in a hotel in Amsterdam, though we believe you have chosen the best option.

Secondly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on this website. I am glad to read that we were able to provide you with a good base for your visit and that our goal of providing both leisure and business facilities seems to work. You rightly state that this does come at a cost, and that cheaper facilities are available, but we gladly take up the challenge to prove that Novotel Amsterdam City offers the best value for money all things considered.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. If you are a member of our LeCLub Accorhotels program, we might even be able to make your stay even more enjoyable.

Kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    672
    1,127
    336
    88
    46
See reviews for
585
474
113
679
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Figueira da Foz
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed here on a work trip wich took place in RAI. The hotel is five minutes walking from RAI station and RAI Amsterdam congress center.
The hotel is new, elegant and confortable, with nice and friendly staff.
The rooms are not very big but confortable with excellent beds.
Breakfast was good
It's a bit far from town center, getting there it's simple by TRAM (nº4) or Metro but comming back at night requires a taxi (16 to 20 € ) if you return after 00.30h.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cusco43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a work trip, and enjoyed my stay, however, I would not stay here if I were a tourist in Amsterdam as it is a bit out of town.
nice hotel, and very nice staff.
Rooms are clean and comfortable.
One thing that drove me crazy though was the thimble sized tea cups!!!... Please get bigger cups, I can't stand having to refill my cup 5 times just to have a normal rekaxing cup of tea at breakfast - it is quite stressful actually!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

close to Amsterdam Rai train station, which is 15 min from Schipol by train. breakfast was excellent, with a huge choice and excellent fresh fruit. bar has good service, but closes at 1am, and all were asked to go to front lounge to finish drinks. room was good sized, and exellent bed for a good night's sleep. everything worked and for business traveller, it was an excellent hotel. staff was very helpful. taxi stand is just outside the hotel - taxis are expensive in Amsterdam so beware! trams are best value to go from hotel to amsterdam city centre,

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Clean Hotel , good service .....good breakfast spread. Though it is located far off from the city but is well connected by trams and bus. It's like any other normal business hotel and is well maintained.
The interiors are modern .

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shalinirahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed there for one night.
Pros:
Room are clean and ok in space.
Breakfast varieties were good.
Service was great and reception checked me in swiftly even though there were congress in the hotel and too many people were checking in.

Cons:
Free internet was really bad, you hardly can connect for 5 min continuously.
Rooms with connecting doors on the second floor (where I was staying) are really bad in sound transfer, you can hear what is happening in the next room very clearly.
Distance to city center is considerably far.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abolghar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had booked 2 nights through our mini cruise stay with P&O and got a really great rate, as we were 3hours early for check in we were offered to upgrade our room for €60 for the two nights, we decided we would and were really glad we did as we had a room on the 15th floor with a really great view, free mini bar and dressing gowns and slippers which was a nice treat. The bed was a great size and comfortable, very clean and the staff were really lovely, we were also able to store our luggage the next day until we were ready to leave.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,597 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#131 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,226 reviews
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
NH Amsterdam Zuid
#121 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing