We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #116 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Old Sodbury
Level Contributor
152 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during the METS exhibition.

Rooms are meticulously clean and have a mini-bar - which is becoming a rarity.

The restaurant does both European and Asian meals - delicious.

Free Wi-Fi too!

Within 10 minutes walk of the RAI centre, but a good way out of town. Very handy for the airport.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChairmanBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    758
    1,271
    392
    95
    59
See reviews for
680
533
122
763
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 3 days in Amsterdam at the back end of a Euro driving trip that saw us do 2 weeks in the Austrian Tyrol and a week in Berlin.

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon after driving from Berlin on probably the hottest day of the year and so we just wanted to check in and get a cold drink as quickly as possible. The reception area is light and spacious and created a good impression. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful in asking us where we had come from, whether we had been to Amsterdam before and making recommendations. Within minutes our bags were in our room and we were in the bar with a cold Heineken.

I would say the room was smaller than the Novotel room we had just left in Berlin. The decor was not as good. This hotel seemed to be keener on the environment so there were less toiletries in the room etc.The shower was also above the bath which came as a shock since in Berlin the Novotel hotels have both a bath and a shower cubicle. One advantage for the English speaking traveller is the fact the Dutch have English tv channels available.

Free wifi in the room was a good thing, considering this has to be paid for in Berlin.

As other people have mentioned the lift could be a little slow at breakfast times and check out/ check in times for the coach trips that turned up on all of the 3 days we were there. This volume of people also caused problems with regard to breakfast itself.

Each morning when reporting for breakfast we were ushered into a side room that was serviced by one member of staff. It was not until the last day that we were told to go straight into what we realised was the 'main' breakfast room.We were surprised to see that not only was there greater choice available in terms of the range of foods but that chefs were there to cook items to order. The previous 2 days we had none of these facilities.

To anyone using this hotel in future I would recommend that you insist you go into the main breakfast room and not the annex. If necessary you should wait because it really is that much better. Had we known, we would have waited.

I notice that some people have complained about the hotel not being central but for me this was not a problem. I found the daily trip into the city on the tram from Station Rai lovely as I like to see the neighbourhoods that the 'real' city people live in away from the touristy areas.

The only other problem for me was how expensive the car park was at the hotel. It was outdoor and for a fraction of the cost we could have parked on the street.

I am rating this hotel experience as average because I am comparing it to my week in a Berlin Novotel that was better in terms of the room size and decor, the breakfast, cheaper indoor parking. I guess it just shows that despite being a chain that there are differences and that compared to Berlin, Amsterdam is just a much more expensive city to stay in.

One thing I would recommend to people with families is the park across the road because it has mini-golf, a train and petting zoo. You could easily spend a whole day there without needing to travel into the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vercingetorix1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend staying at the Novotel Amsterdam City. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from Amsterdam Rai railway station. Excellent service at reception, where we were allowed to leave our bags in left luggage before checking into our room. We were allowed to register and pick up our room card later on. Reception staff were the usual Dutch standard of being very friendly and helpful. We stayed in an executive room on the 15th floor. Very spacious room with views looking ot over the business district at Amsterdam South. Plenty of pillows to choose from and a very large king size bed. We had a meal in the restaurant on our first night and were blown away by the quality. The menus is split into East and West, with dishes from Europe and Asia. The breakfast buffet is probably the biggest choice of food I have seen with cereals, fruit, cakes, hot food, and even pot noodles. There is also quite a well equipped gym and a sauna for guests use. The hotel is a great base to explore Amsterdam with trains from Amsterdam rai and the local metro close by. If travelling by train to Central Amsterdam you do have to change trains, but it's not that far and ver easy. A great hotel in a very good location. Definitely stay again, great value.

Room Tip: Go executive and get a room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_M1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Completely adequate business hotel, staff is generally helpful and competent - very good conference center. Rooms are nothing to write home about but fine - wish they stocked conditioner for my hair not just shampoo, basic towels, and old fashioned hairdryer. The few complaints I had were that the elevator was SO slow in the morning, I waited over 10 minutes twice. Also the 'mini bar' staff were quite insistent in coming in my room to check the mini bar even though I had just checked in after a night flight and was trying to get some sleep.
Restaurant was fine for the buffet breakfast and conference lunch but I wouldn't go for dinner to order off the menu.
Location is outside of center city but very easy to get to from airport (train to RAI and short walk) and easy tram to center city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank QualResearcher_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The service at the reception is sooooo slow ! 30 minutes to check-in, 30 minutes to check-out !
Rooms and common parts need to be refreshed
But the breakfast was good, and even if not in the city center, there a direct metro, a direct tram and a direct night bus so it was convenient

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steveun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#118 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
3.1 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#73 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing