We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful and well positioned” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Amsterdam City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Novotel Amsterdam City
Ranked #114 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Helpful and well positioned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel may not be in the centre of Amsterdam but it is convenient enough because it is located next near to the RAI station and a tram terminus.
In 2011 I was taken ill while staying at this hotel and I have to say the staff were amazing, they called doctors, arranged medicine and generally were understanding. I could have asked for little more from them. This is one of the most popular hotels for trade shows because it is a short walk from the RAI exhibition centre, so book well in advance if you need a room.

Room Tip: There are executive rooms on the top floor and a gym on the first floor. The lifts take an age.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_DVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.com.

We very much appreciate your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Novotel Amsterdam City.

I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feedback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,

Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager

NOVOTEL Amsterdam City
Europaboulevard 10
NL-1083 AD Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    1,271
    392
    95
    59
See reviews for
680
533
122
764
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Average noisy business hotel, conveniently located near park, tram, train and RAI with very friendly staff. Absolutely clean, everything you need for business, but sleeping after 6:30 is a challenge, constant door slamming, coughing neighbours, suitcases rolling, elevator noise, idling busses. Fitness center is good, but for some reason there was no access to the sauna.
All-in-all: suitable for business, but not for exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank udfudf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Ok, so we ended up at the Novotel through a Priceline.com bid. We wanted a hotel in Amsterdam and with in 10 minutes walk from City Centre. When we were told by Priceline which hotel was picked for us for our price, it was this place. We tried to get our money back because it is not close at all to what we wanted. But we were of course refused a refund, but assured the distance is much closer than it looked on the map. Not true.

So the review for this hotel....
This place is really far from the center of Amsterdam. The #4 tram takes about half a hour and does not run all night. We were back at the hotel by 10pm each night because we were afraid of missing the last train because this hotel is far. This is a place to stay if you want to be near the airport or something.

The downstairs looks very modern and with big screen iMacs for use, fancy sushi restaurant. But when we arrived to our room, this was not the case. Small for the price. No air flow. My friend and I both left with colds.

If you want to enjoy the city, do not stay here. Find a place with real character in the centre. Actual walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FOODIE_JOJO_54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RGroenhuyzen, General Manager at Novotel Amsterdam City, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to inform us and other travelers about your stay at Novotel Amsterdam City. I am sorry to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. I therefore would like to reply on some of your comments in order to inform other travelers about this review.

I regret the fact that you were not well informed on the location of our hotel. Novotel Amsterdam City is located in the south part of Amsterdam, close to the business centre ‘Zuid As’ and the RAI Congress & Exhibition Centre. Public transport facilities are available in close vicinity of the hotel. Tram number 4 is a direct line from the RAI station within a 3 minute walk of the hotel and brings you in about 20 minutes to Dam Square. Metro 51 brings you in 15 minutes to Central Station and the train brings you to Schiphol Airport within 10 minutes. All options run until midnight.

All our hotel rooms are equipped with an air cooling system and windows can be opened.

Of course, I regret the fact that the above has affected your overall feeling of your visit to Amsterdam.

I do thank you for informing us on this matter and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

With kind regards,
NOVOTEL AMSTERDAM CITY


Remco Groenhuyzen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed for about 8 nights for business meetings. The highlight of the trip was the business center - they had excellent facilities and were very accommodating to any request. The food at the restaurant/room service was nothing special. The rooms were relatively small, but comfortable. Free WiFi was a big plus.

OK location - not in the city, but close the train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rdwielard33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

i cannot get my head around a couple of reviews about this hotel, obviously the people who wrote these reviews had either eaten too much spacecake or wolfed too many magic mushrooms!!. This hotel was fantastic, the staff couldnt do enough for you, and although a bit expensive the breakfast was out of this world!!!. The room (562) was huge, and clean and thats what you expect of a 4 star establishment. We went on a p&o mini cruise,2 nights on the ferry and 2 nights at this hotel and paid £125 each. It was the best value for money city break we have taken and a lot of that was down to the quality of this hotel. Yes it was abit out of the city centre (15-20 mins on tram 4), but this was not a problem. Would i stay again in this hotel??, i wouldnt give it a second thought, loved it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank glynncollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Hi, this is a good hotel , the people are so kind, the rooms with good spaces ,very clean and confortable, the breakfast and the restaurants are so, so good. The tram and metro station are so near, good restaurants too. It was a real good election.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edgar f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waroona, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for only 3 days. It was a nice hotel for the price paid. The room was abit small but the amenities were sufficent as we were not there often most of the time we were experiencing the city and the sights. It was not in the heart of the city just a short tram ride away and this was great as the area was quiet and residential in nature. The breakfast in the morning was quiet a spread with both hot and cold selections. The free computers were useful in the lobby and the wifi offered was consistent. I would recommend this hotel to families who want to see the sights of this beautiful city, watch out for bikes....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SashaandSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,859 reviews
0.7 mi away
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#101 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam South
3.1 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Amsterdam City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Amsterdam City

Property: Novotel Amsterdam City
Address: Europaboulevard 10, 1083 AD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Amsterdam City 4*
Number of rooms: 611
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Amsterdam City is a 4 star hotel near the Amsterdam RAI events centre and the WTC. RAI station,within walking distance of the hotel, offers frequent connections to the city centre and Schiphol Airport. This 100% non smoking hotel is an idealbase for a business trip or weekend away.The modern rooms feature an extra long bed, mobile desk, sofa and airconditioning. The hotel offers a restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, seven meeting rooms, a business centre, pub and coffee corner ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Amsterdam City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam City Hotel Amsterdam
Accor Amsterdam City
Amsterdam Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing