We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kam Yin

Kam Yin
Ranked #900 of 3,328 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Decor and layout gives this place more of a cafe feel than a restaurant but there is no denying the excellent value for money it offers, even drinks are reasonably priced by Amsterdam standards.
We loved the food here and visited it a couple of times during our visit, the service was somewhat lacking but we find this common in most Chinese restaurants, never mind a Chinese restaurant in the Netherlands!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Boltonbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    100
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food for a very good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Whenever I go to Amsterdam, I make sure to stop by Kam Yin to have a Moksi Meti (mixed meat) with bami. :-) Oh yeah, and a pink Fernandez ("Cherry bouquet") soft drink as well. No need to get any starters here while you wait for your main course, because some five minutes after you've ordered, your meal will be served. If you're looking for a romantic dinner for two, you might want to go somewhere else, though, because the atmosphere leaves a lot to be desired. This being said, many Surinamese go to eat there, and if if it's good enough for them, it's certainly good enough for me as well!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a restaurant with a constant quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

This Chinese restaurant isn't the coziest one for a couple in love, but that wouldn't be a problem if the food is good - in other words not rotten. Unfortunately that happened to us. However, I have eaten on other occasions a good diner here.

Helpful?
Thank Hunebedje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Tasty Surinamese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We ate at this no frills restaurant on our first evening in Amsterdam as we wanted to try Surinamese food which is a fusion of Chinese/Indonesian food. The restaurant was very busy but we managed to get a table for the two of us without having to wait. We started with hot and sour soup which was delicious and then I had a chicken and rice dish while my husband opted for noodles and chicken. The food was very tasty and there was plenty of it. Our bill for the two courses with drinks came to 31 euros! No wonder the queue for tables soon build up. Would definitely go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Big portions, 1 thing may be enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

The food was served after 2 minutes, along with our drinks. Superfast service and they overdeliver. I ordered special brown rice and lemon chicken and couldnt finish all. Definetely to check it out, food was also very good! The appearance suck bit dont let that fool you

Helpful?
Thank Martina M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Kam Yin also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kam Yin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing