We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Cheese Cheese & Cheese

You're going to see this exact same review 3x for all 3 shops as all 3 were equal in all areas... read more

Reviewed July 23, 2019
Teresa M
,
Minot, North Dakota
via mobile
Awesome company, even better cheese

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the cheese, stroopwafels, and other products... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed July 17, 2019
arubeck
,
New York City, New York
Read all 33 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Amsterdam
from $17.97
More Info
from $59.51
More Info
from $43.79
More Info
from $20.21
More Info
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveler rating
18
11
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
18
11
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cheese tasting cheese shop waffles gouda purchase
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 33 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018 via mobile

You can go upstairs to watch a quick video on the history of Henri Willig. Then you can go downstairs to sample tons of great things, cheese, sauces and spreads, and crackers. Make purchases if you like to. The cheeses are wrapped and will last up to 4 weeks. They can also be taken back to the US.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Missv3507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We were walkng down the street when we passed by the shop and were curious as we visited other cheese shops in Amsterdam. We didn't regret it; we had such a wonderful cheese experience. Everything there looks delicious. We tred some of the displayed cheese (pesto, pepper, honey/thym, goat, chili) and made some shopping. As soon as you enter this shop, your cheese perspective changes! Worth the visit!!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Baladeuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dianne P, Manager Marketing & Formule at Henri Willig Singel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Thank you for your review, We glad to liked our shop and hope to meet you again in one of our shops or on our webshop. Enjoy the cheese you bought.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017 via mobile

Although we didn’t learn much about cheese making, we got to taste 4 different kinds of Gouda cheese (both cow and goat) paired with 2 dips (a fig balsamic and a honey mustard). We also had a pleasant Merlot for the first 2 lighter cheeses and a nice Port for the latter 2 aged cheeses. Reasonably priced at 9 € per person and offering a 10% discount for purchase in the store afterwards.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank psdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We went in for a quick look and ended up staying a good 30-40 minutes. The woman helping us - well, feeding us - was delightful and fun. She gave us good sized samples of so many cheeses! Goat, cow, sheep and a variety of flavors of course. Explanations of the flavors were given.
We were told that by the way the cheeses are packed they can go 4 weeks without refridgeration, so no worries about getting it home.
We had a cheese tasting included in a tour later in our stay and it paled in comparison to the expericene we had at Henri Willig - and the samples and info at Henri were free!
There are multiple Henri Willig shops in Amsterdam, and I THINK this is the one we stopped in, I want to get it right because it was the staff that made the experience so enjoyable.
Stop in, but be warned - you won't have room for dinner!

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Irk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2017 via mobile

Very nice cheese store, with great variety of gouda cheese. Helpful staff, that gives you information about every kind of gouda. You can also taste the cheeses. Prices more or less the same as everywhere, but the cheeses have better presentation.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank DimT1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews