We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cedars, near city ring Amsterdam-West”

Libanees Restaurant Cedars
Reserve with
Libanees Restaurant Cedars is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #629 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $22 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cedars, near city ring Amsterdam-West”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had diner at Cedars with his 3 pax. Pre-booked by the internet and a timely confirmation by via email. Free parking, good reception, some nuts and (paid) drink as a start and quiet wait at the side until everyone is there, then a correct guidance to our table. The request by internet for a quiet table in the corner was not honored, perhaps by a late request, but it could do. The three-course meal had lots of mezze (small appetizers). The tast was fine, but not extraordinary. It was good besides the talking. We ordered a bottle of dry wine without looking at the prize, but € 35/bottle is pricey. With 2 bottles of wine total about € 210 I would say the price was on the high side. The food, fish, lamb and salmon were all good, and the toilet is clean.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    74
    29
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lots of smuck, bad food and horrible service!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

The only nice thing I can find about this restaurant is its location next and on waterterrasse. and the tables are dressed like a fancy restaurant. The prices are like a a fancy restaurant, the food is NOT. Service: I was with my mother who is of age and likes to get back home on time. Allthough I told the waiter we would appreciate a quick service it took 3/4 of an hour to pass the order. Food came an hour later and was horrible and nothing like a lebanese taste. People are not Lebanese, but Sirian.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank peterduyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stedebroec
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had dinner al freso at this restaurant on one of the hottest days of the year. Since this restaurant doesn't have airco, staying indoors wasn't an option. We had the Mazza Royale menu, which was great value for money. The only disappointing thing was the chef's dessert, consisting of a small piece of cornbread-like stuff and a watery rice pudding, which we had to try and eat with a knife and fork. That being said.... The rest of the food was flavourfull and lokked great. The amount was more than enough. The atmosphere was great. Their terrace on the waterfront looked great. The waiters were attentive and nice. The only thing missing was some kind of sunshade, because it was unbelievably hot and it stayed that way untill sundown, which was quite late. Loved the food, except for dessert. Would have enjoyed some Baklawa instead. Will certainly go back here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank diazzStedebroec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great quality, great vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Bright, airy and open, modern, tons of light, great terrace on the water. Food was excellent, with good quality and great flavours. Nothing oily or overcooked or soggy. For me details like really ripe tomatoes and high quality cucumbers make a big difference. Maitre d' was very professional and attentive and friendly. Super clean, lively open kitchen Yes, it is a bit pricy, but I don't why the people below didn't read the menu first. And 29.50 for an appetizer, salad, two hot mezzes, 6 cold mezzes, a main course and a desert is hardly extreme, especially since everything is so good. I will be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank DiggerNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Would have been a nice evening if i didn't got robbed & life threatened by the staff!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

I went there last saturday with some friends for a nice evening dinner as I had been told this place was nice and food was good. First, it was a bit weird considering it is a bit out of Amsterdam. Also despite being a Saturday night, the place was relatively empty which made the ambiance a bit weird despite the nice decoration.
We ordered some drinks and some tap water. We were told they do not provide tap water (what's the purpose of Amsterdam's water being so clean, if a restaurant doesn't want to serve you some). We then discussed with the waiter the menu, being 2 men and 4 women, we explained we just wanted some cold and warm mazza but not too much. They brought us some cold mazza first and then hot ones - there were already too much food for us so we sad to them no to bring more. We had mint tea and smoke a narguile. We had some wine - from Lebanon - it was a really nice red and the white wasn't bad too, but they were way too expensive by Dutch standard!
The problem occured when it came to the bill. They charged us for some Royale menu for each person - despite the fact the Royal menu is supposed to have more warm mezza and have desert included. It was already really bad form and when we questionned the bill with the waiter, he was really rude to us, said he could charge us for each individual item (which would make it even more expensive) and didn't show any sense of fairness. He even threatened to call the police (picking up the phone and dialing a random number), spoke arabic with a colleague and suddenly we were surrounded by 5 guys with threats of fight. We paid the bill in full - 63EUR pp for a bit of hummus on bread, some fired mushrooms and a bit of meat - this is just horrendous but we thought it was not worth risking broken ribs.
Basically, I would advise anyone to avoid this place (except if you speak arabic as it seems some other tables had good deals when speaking arabic). If you want some nice arabic (incl lebanese) food in Amsterdam, I would suggest Nomand, The Artist or Beyrouth. Otherwise you can find some indonesian or spanish that also serve tapas like dishes for half the price (and in the center so no need for taxi).

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank JohnQ_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Libanees Restaurant Cedars also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Libanees Restaurant Cedars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing