We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greetje

Greetje
Ranked #180 of 3,722 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $31
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Description: At Restaurant Greetje you will enjoy traditional local cuisine imbued with a modern, upscale twist. Using local, eco-friendly, and organic ingredients, our menu beings to life the best of Dutch cuisine throughout the centuries. Our staff loves to look after you. They have tried every dish on the menu and can recommend their favorites while regaling you the history surrounding each offering. The restaurant is situated in a quiet and beautiful area of downtown Amsterdam, right between the Montelbaans Tower and the Nationale Maritime Museum. Our interior is cozy, with gentle lighting, hardwood floors. and wainscoting. Our tables are set with first class custom made Villeroy & Boch table ware and cutlery. If you are looking for a memorable Amsterdam experience, filled with fabulous food and drink, Restaurant Greetje is your best choice.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Everything was perfect, down to every detail. Not only was the food itself really great, but it was also very nicely served. The apetizers were fantastic, too. The restaurant is located in a nice and quiet area, away from the crowded touristic center of the city. Overall, this was one of the best dinners I've ever had during my many travels to the Netherlands, if not the best.
It's expensive, but worth every penny.
It also deserves extra points for accepting credit cards.
When I return to Amsterdam I will definitely visit Greetje again, no doubt about it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vlad_Soare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    191
    90
    34
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portola Valley, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great food, traditional setting, but needs AC!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

My family of 5 had a lovely dinner here our last night in Amsterdam. It's located off the beaten path, on a quiet street not far from the Centraal Train Station, an easy 15 minute walk from our hotel in Jordaan. The restaurant itself is pretty, decorated like a traditional old Dutch home, with windows overlooking a trestle bridge and small canal. The service was great and the food was fantastic, starting from the warm brown bread served with beet-flavored fresh butter and a white spread described as pork belly fat. We had the deluxe tasting menu and thus got to try every starter and dessert on the menu. They were all delicious, even the creamy, mild licorice ice cream that we non-licorice-lovers were hesitant to try.

The only negative aspect of our experience was that the restaurant itself was insanely hot. The weather that day was warm and humid veering between cloudy and rainy, but inside the restaurant it was easily 15 degrees warmer, despite having all the windows open and small fans and portable AC units placed every few feet. I'm not sure what was going on - Kitchen generating too much heat? Windows kept shut during the heat if the day? - but it was nearly unbearable. In winter, I'm sure it's delightfully cozy, but if you plan to go in summer, wear your absolute lightest layers and ask to sit by a window.

Helpful?
Thank Googoose25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

AMAZING, what else is there to say. We had dinner at Greetje and were lucky to get a table as the place was pretty much booked out. We got a lovely table outside and the feast started with a complimentary appetizer which was delicious (home made dark bread and beetroot cream). The black pudding and apple compote starter was delicious, and the chicken fillet as well as the mushroom pie mains were wonderful.

Even though it was quite pricey to eat there, we would highly recommend this restaurant. The food was divine, service staff were friendly and attentive, the location was brilliant and away from the busy tourist centre, and the atmosphere is great for a quiet romantic dinner.

Highly recommend this place, loved it, the best meal we had in Amsterdam!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna3285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Took my partner for a birthday treat weekend to Amsterdam. On the Saturday night, wanted to have a really special meal, so asked locals in a pub where they thought we could find a traditionally Dutch high class restaurant. All I can say to the two girls in the bar (which we did later anyway!) who recommended it is thank you so much. We opted for the mixed starters, beetroot crusted halibut, then mixed dessert. The champers to start with, followed by a bottle of lovely white, made the meal even more enjoyable. The service was 5 star all the way and the owner couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. Total bill approx £130 and worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lionel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant in a newspaper article about best places for local food in Amsterdam. We went for that and definitely did not disappoint. The weather was good and luckily we got a table outside. Not one of the best restaurants ever, but food was very indeed and we enjoyed the whole experience. Service was not 5 star but was acceptable. We would visit again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank stavz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing