We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine food and warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Greetje

Greetje
Ranked #192 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $32
Cuisines: Dutch, European, Delicatessen, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Plantage & the East
Description: At Restaurant Greetje you will enjoy traditional local cuisine imbued with a modern, upscale twist. Using local, eco-friendly, and organic ingredients, our menu beings to life the best of Dutch cuisine throughout the centuries. Our staff loves to look after you. They have tried every dish on the menu and can recommend their favorites while regaling you the history surrounding each offering. The restaurant is situated in a quiet and beautiful area of downtown Amsterdam, right between the Montelbaans Tower and the Nationale Maritime Museum. Our interior is cozy, with gentle lighting, hardwood floors. and wainscoting. Our tables are set with first class custom made Villeroy & Boch table ware and cutlery. If you are looking for a memorable Amsterdam experience, filled with fabulous food and drink, Restaurant Greetje is your best choice.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fine food and warm atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Greetje serves traditional Dutch food. The restaurant is located close to, but outside the red light district on a quiet cross-street. The food was unusual and delicious, and the servers were attentive and friendly, if a bit young. One caution, it's not vegetarian friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TET916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    198
    91
    35
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best cream brûlé ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm Italian I know about food ....this is a great one ! Good service ....and the best dessert ever , try the cream brûlée , you will never forget
We'll done
Bravi
Novella

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 9lla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Very nice restaurant where you can experience a menu with several starters and deserts, for all tastes.... Enjoyed specially the starters. The main course (fish in my case) was also very gois and tasty. The Room is very nice and service is also very good. A very good choice for a group! 10 min walking to central station area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NAF22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hilarious evening rescued from Disaster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

A unique evening brought about by the new online booking system not taking account of all the direct phone bookings also made that evening i.e. every table was double booked and the queue was out the door !! A nightmare for the staff but they would not let anyone down and, by opening up the bar for free drinks and some patience from the would-be -diners, we all got served . I have never seen anyone work so hard … well done . The mixed sample starters (served on a tiered cake stand ) were great and the same idea works well for dessert . All in all a great evening with interesting local food .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KentKritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“a very old but authentic fabulous hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I went with a Dutch friend and the service was 5 star,s everything from their manners to the attention to us, the wine, the food, the old décor, made me feel like I was a princess. It is near the central train station, walking distance and away from the main avenue. well worth the visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarilenaFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greetje also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greetje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing