We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sampurna

Sampurna
Reserve with
Sampurna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #255 of 3,753 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $155
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ealing
Level Contributor
141 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

16 of us descended on this restaurant - all very hungry & thirsty - we only booked an hour before and it was late but they accommodated us. The recommendation was made by a friend who lived in Amsterdam - he spoke to the waitress & ordered a set meal which had a choice of starter & then countless mains. Beef, chicken, fish, goat, salads, rice - you name it we had it & all delicious.
One of our party was vegetarian & he got his own set of dishes.some of the food is very spicy (they did ask if we wanted spicy before we ordered & general consensus was yes).

You will find cheaper Indonesian restaurants but I doubt you'll find better. Never hurried us - even though it was late & we were the last in there. Service was good & friendly. Give it a go

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 43Seconds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    312
    89
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Loved Sampurna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Charming small restaurant in an extremely busy area. Having lived in Malaysia for a long time, and not being able to find one good SE Asian restaurant in Europe, I went to Sampurna with very low expectations. I had travelled 3 hours by train from Köln, Germany, just to have lunch in Sampurna. And it was worth it. The sambal was very spicy, but sweet, and sour, and rich. In my opinion, the best Indonesian food I've had so far in Europe (but I am sure there are better ones I have yet to try).

I would travel to Amsterdam anytime for Sampurna!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dnilbroloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good Indonesian considering location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting this restaurant to be good given its location right by the flower market in a tourist part of Amsterdam but it was great. The rijsttafel set menus are great value, and they don't hold back on the spices,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolevharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

First time when I visited this place I was with large group of people, the food was good but I was not able to enjoy in it as it was too spicy for my taste.
I decided to give it a go a second time. I was with two more friends, we ordered vegetarian dish for two persons and extra sate (it was to much for us) and it was delicious!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivana_shmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent meal once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ordered one of the "rice table" options for dinner with my Mom...everything was fantastic! If you've never had Indonesian rijsttafel before, it's like tapas on steroids...lots of small plates designed to share, and in varying degrees of spiciness. The staff was helpful in all aspects of the meal, and the atmosphere is inviting, whether you are seated out front near the flower market, or in the back with the soft lights.
This was my third time to Sampurna, and I will definitely be back again, should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsTravel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampurna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sampurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing