We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good Indonesian considering location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sampurna

Sampurna
Reserve with
Sampurna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #249 of 3,767 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $0 - $155
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprisingly good Indonesian considering location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I wasn't expecting this restaurant to be good given its location right by the flower market in a tourist part of Amsterdam but it was great. The rijsttafel set menus are great value, and they don't hold back on the spices,

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicolevharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    313
    89
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

First time when I visited this place I was with large group of people, the food was good but I was not able to enjoy in it as it was too spicy for my taste.
I decided to give it a go a second time. I was with two more friends, we ordered vegetarian dish for two persons and extra sate (it was to much for us) and it was delicious!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ivana_shmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent meal once again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ordered one of the "rice table" options for dinner with my Mom...everything was fantastic! If you've never had Indonesian rijsttafel before, it's like tapas on steroids...lots of small plates designed to share, and in varying degrees of spiciness. The staff was helpful in all aspects of the meal, and the atmosphere is inviting, whether you are seated out front near the flower market, or in the back with the soft lights.
This was my third time to Sampurna, and I will definitely be back again, should I return to Amsterdam!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MsTravel1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had an excellent diner here, recommended and booked through our hotel. They were completely full, so a reservation was important. The restaurant is small and low ceilinged and basically furnished, so don’t expect to be wowed by the decor, but the staff were super friendly and the food, we had Rijsttafel, was delicious. I'd go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indonesian food near the Flowermarket”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We walked in without a reservation on a Friday night around 6:30pm, and had no problem getting a table for two, although an hour later, Sampurna had a full house and was turning people away. The waitress was great at explaining good ways to try lots of different flavors as Indonesian food was new to us. We had the "most authentic Indonesian" Rijsttafel -- a dinner for two that could have fed four. Rice, along with multiple sampler appetizers, and beef, vegie, and chicken dishes, along with some "salads" to try. Really tasty food, with lots of different flavors and spice levels.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SESNoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampurna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sampurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing