We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional indonesian food at his best”
Review of Sampurna

Sampurna
Reserve with
Sampurna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #244 of 3,853 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $155
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional indonesian food at his best”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great food, friendly service, excellent wine-list, and all reasonably-priced. Our meals were two different rijsttafels, one mild and one spicy, but both filled with a variety of tastes, aromas, and textures. The staff was friendly and helpful. Would definitely go again...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susanne16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    323
    98
    46
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food, Spicy price”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked this restaurant for Saturday night - you must book it in advance as it was 100% full.
We took the tasting menu which was excellent - good variety, spicy and interesting.
Nice small place with good atmosphere.
The service is usually nice but very busy - mostly what was disturbing is that we set down at 19:30 and were presented with the bill at 21:00 sharp, and no - we didn't ask for it... they decided it was time for us to clear the table.
A meal for 2 with 2 glasses of wine *(excellent wine BTW) and 2 glasses of soft drinks cost Euro 90!!!!
However we would return since the atmosphere is nice and food is good....

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna151281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good food, but a delay for a table”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

As it was a Saturday we went in during the day and specifically booked a table for four people in the evening. We arrived, five minutes ahead to be told the table wasn't ready, ant it would be at least half an hour. The small bar area was full, so we went elsewhere for a drink.
Upon our return the table still wasn't ready, and we ended up waiting a further 15 minutes. Personally, I don't think this is acceptable when you book! However one of the waitresses was apologetic about this further delay, and was attentive and cleared a table quickly. On the other hand it appears diners are not rushed, and I suppose there is a juxtaposition here.
As a group we had a Risjttafel, and the service from that point was very good, with a clear explanation and tasters on the different heats/spice of the Risjttafel.
The food was lovely, and offered some real variety which is just what we were after, and a good portion that left none of us feeling hungry.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alanhardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My wife and I decided to have a few days in Amsterdam and on our first night we thought we'd go for a Risjttafel. We looked on Tripadvisor, found this place and booked it for seven forty-five on the Saturday night.
We had a really great time there, although things didn't start very well. We got there exactly on time for our booking and found there wasn't a table available. In fairness, I suppose they can't know how long previous diners will stay at their table. The place was quite small and was mad-daft busy (a good sign). One of the waiters was most apologetic and asked us to take a seat in a very busy bar area, have a drink and he would sort out a table for us as soon as he possibly could.
Sounded like a decent enough plan, except that the bar area was little more than a corridor between the two main parts of the restaurant. It was very small, and full of other people awaiting their tables so there was actually nowhere to sit...or even stand still. We managed to get a couple of small beers and then spent the next ten minutes constantly moving in and out of the way of busy waiters and waitresses rushing past us in all directions.
Actually, we saw the funny side of it and within ten minutes of walking in, we had a table.
Don't be put off by any of this. We didn't have to wait very long, the staff were very apologetic and we actually found it all quite amusing watching the organised chaos. All really because the place is clearly very popular.
From then on, things were great. The food we were served was amazing. Hot, flavoursome and varied. All the ingredients were first-class and beautifully cooked. We really enjoyed it.
The service was polite, friendly, but understandably hectic. Not that we were rushed through at all, and nor were any of the staff abrupt or impolite. They all gave as much friendliness as they possibly could given how much they were trying to do.
If you are visiting Amsterdam and fancy some really good Indonesian food, this is a very good place to try. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moriartyman12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food. Complemented by great little restaurant atmosphere with good service.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited this Indonesian restaurant as recommended by Tripadvisor. It was our first Indonesian dining experience. Dinner was a feast! Food was fantastic with very good service from the staff. I highly recommend the set menus.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PochMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sampurna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sampurna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing