We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool little Fluorescent Basement”

Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art
Ranked #124 of 518 things to do in Amsterdam
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Museum as of May 10, 2017 is now "BY APPOINTMENT ONLY." Appointments made only through: electricladyland appointy. Museum open Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. Museum Tours everyday at: 2:00 - 3:00PM 3:00 - 4:00PM 4:00 - 5:00PM 5:00 - 6:00PM Please bring appointment confirmation to the Museum. Door is Locked 15 minutes after the hourly start of each tour. No Suntan Lotion in Museum. DO NOT DISTURB THE NEIGHBORS OR SIT ON THEIR BENCHES!
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cool little Fluorescent Basement”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Note: this whole "museum" is contained in the basement. Another note: one of the best museum experiences I've had in a while. The owners have such a passion in fluorescent art and the personal tour where they give you a run down of every single part of the exhibit including fun toys and articles on fluorescent is very meaningful. They also have an awesome fluorescent area/playground which is very cool and apparent that it took plenty of time to build it. For only a 5 euro entrance fee, definitely worth the visit! This museum will only take about an hour of your time though.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Gus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    50
    19
    8
    23
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top museum”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Took a while to find but a really interesting look at fluro lights, the owners have alot of passion in what they do. Felt good to fund there hobbie even though tours are only 5 euros! Definite trip if in dam for more than just a weekend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“If unique is what you seek”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

If unique is what you seek then do not miss an opportunity to see this museum. It is the most memorable one I have ever visited and I thoroughly enjoyed my 80 minute tour/show given by Nick the owner. However, it is not for everyone. You need the time to let Nick explain the history and tell his stories before the real light show begins. As others have said the museum is quite small and besides the neon labyrinth there doesn't seem to be much to see. But when Nick started to show me his collection of minerals, shells, and man made objects under the black lights I was impressed by the beauty and variety of his collection. The museum and the owner are both colourful, unique, and very entertaining. And all for 5 Euros!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This guy is a dude”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

This place really is a hidden gem! You probably won't find it in any tour guides and its not advertised but if you can be bothered to go and seek it out its really interesting and worth it. The main attraction is a giant fluorescent scene you can walk around. Its pretty cool and psychedelic The best thing about this place is the man who runs it. He clearly has a real passion and a lot of knowledge on the subject of all things fluorescent and I could have quite happily have stayed and listened to him all day and look at all the intriguing pieces he had collected and heard the stories behind them. He even has a piece UV of art of Jimmi Hendrixs' painted by Jimmis brother!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Raisin_face_kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Illuminating!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went given it's rating on Trip Advisor and didn't really know what to expect. Went into a pretty cluttered (with fluorescent artwork) shop area, paid our money and went down to the 'gallery'. I suppose on going down the stairs I was expecting the museum to be several rooms or more. In reality it was a fairly small single room basement. My gut reaction was ' what have we just signed up for........'. The best part of an hour later I emerged having enjoyed the museum. Brought to life by the guy who owns/runs it. I guess he is an artist/geologist/hippy but whatever, he was enthusiastic about his fluorescent passion and this seemed to rub off on everyone. Lots of historical artefacts and enough exhibits to demonstrate fluorescence (if that is the right word). Definitely an experience worth 5 euros and an hour of your time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank EdinburghGlaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Electric Ladyland - the First Museum of Fluorescent Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing