We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate”
Review of Cau

Cau
Ranked #192 of 3,900 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $156
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Chocolate, chocolate, chocolate”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The ribs are great and as much as you can eat, but the real attraction is the chocolate x3 consisting of choc mousse, choc cake and choc icecream.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,108
    911
    300
    100
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“sensational steaks”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

we had been to amsterdam several times and always went to what we called "the best steakhouse in the city" so we were disappointed to find that it was no longer there. However we needent have worried as it had not gone but simply re named. The Gaucho is now called Cau, similar menu and the same quality steaks but with a re vamped interior. Service was excellent and the restaurant was buzzing, we got the last table so it it a good idea to book. You woun be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ritam459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great experience eating at Cau”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I was visiting Amsterdam with husband and daughter and we wanted a really good steak. In the area of this restaurand there were other steak houses which were cheaper but this looked the most appealing, and it was a great choice. We chose the fillet, rib eye, and sirloin steaks so we felt we gave them a good test across the range and all were cooked to perfection. It was great that we could choose from three different sizes (225gm, 300gm, 400gm) and in fact they will cut you an even larger steak if you can manage it! They also do a mixed plate to share of 4 different steaks for 70 euros - might have tempted us if there had been 4 of us. In addition we each chose two sides - all were good and there was enough of most to share. The waiter was helpful, knowledgeable and efficient. While we were there the table next to us ordered salads as mains and they looked delicious - so it's not just the steak that they take pains over. The restaurant automatically added a 10% gratuity to the bill - the only place we ate in Amsterdam that did that - but it was a reasonable tip for the meal and the service so it wasn;t a problem. Would love to go back another time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaturne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“YUM”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I had steak for the first time in my life here. It was very nice. The staff were friendly. It was quite busy and we were lucky to get a table when we did, I would suggest making a reservation that day (if you can). The atmosphere was really good too!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alicia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brazil
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a very hot day. Probably would have given it a 5 had it been a normal day in Amsterdam. Food is excellent. We had meat and pasta. The Blue Cheese Penne and Mushroom Risotto were very nice.
The Brazilian style Tira de Cuadril beef was impeccably done.
The restaurant is modern but we sweated throughout the meal . Temperature was just too high. AC would have made our meal a big difference.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brazilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cau also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Cau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing