We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice for the price I paid!!!!”
Review of Hotel Cornelisz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cornelisz
Ranked #138 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed December 26, 2012

I reserved this hotel after searchin a good location, i love the leidsesquare area so i came across ROBERTRAMON Hotel, not all reviews are good, but i must say, I was very surpriced , itwas realy good, I was in room 403, a good size room with twins beds, safe, normall size TV, desk, two chairs, bathroom with bath, showe soaps ( in dispencers) Decoration was dark, as many reviews are writting about it, but clearly you could see this is part of the design, and not bad at all. It makes it very peacefull and relax. Lobby was also nice, music always and as i stayed during christmass there was some chistmass decoration. Its not a fancy 5 star hotel, but im sure its a very good 3 star hotel ( I have been in many 3 star hotels, (even 4 star) and they are not as good as this hotel.) Staff was also friendly and profesional.
I will return in April after the Ryksmuseum opens,(entrance is max 50 meters away!!!!)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alehandro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Dear Mr Alehandro,

Thank you very much for writing a review on the tripadvisor website,

It is very nice to hear from our guest that our hotel is located in a nice area.
Of course it is even better to hear that they like our hotel. Of course not all the reviews on the websites are all positive, but we are very pleased that you can appreciate our decoration and style. As we have been reading in your review you would come back in April. We hope that you going to enjoy Amsterdam, The Rijksmuseum and of course hotel ROBERTRAMON just as much as the last time you have been here .
Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 554 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a double room. The hotel staff was very friendly and quick to answer any questions even in prior to our arrival. We got rooms as requested as there were 7 of us in total. Easy to get to from the airport-we took a bus which leaves you just a few blocks away. Location is good-although if you're thinking about spending much time in the Red Light area you might wanna book somewhere closer to the station.
Our room was big enough, yes quite dark but didn't find that bothering as the time spent in was really not that much. Had a bath tub, too. Clean overall.
The walls are very thin as stated by others as well-so if you're easily disturbed by normal living noises, maybe consider another hotel to stay in.
Personally, I have no complaints. Can't say about the breakfast-didn't have it. We ate out for the same amount (brunch/lunch).
Helpful staff at the reception.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kati J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RD2012Manager, Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Dear Kati,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on tripadvisor.
We appreciate your kind words and are pleased to hear you have enjoyed your stay at hotel ROBERTRAMON.
We will make sure to share this with our reception team, who are always there to make our guest to feel at home.
Hopefully you will come back to visit us again in the near future.
Wishing you happy holidays and a great new year.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Well, the hotel is not bad, specially considering that it's quite cheap ( for Amsterdam relations... ). Via hrs.de I paid about 70 Euros per night.
The hotel is clean and tidy, but the rooms are very small. Also there's not furniture in the room to storage a bigger amount of clothes.
It's located very, very good, but old windows and thin walls cause some noise.
I can recommend the hotel for people who simply want to sleep there. Not more. And not less.

1  Thank Atilla W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My room was pokey and a bit creepy, the sound proofing was terrible and as a female travelling alone I did not feel safe. I could hear every foot step on my floor & having complained- nothing changed. The location however was ideal- on my favourite shopping street and the reception were helpful for everything 'tourist'.
I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzie_ji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear mrs. ,
Thank you for writing your review on tripadvisor.
We assume you have stayed in our single rooms, the measurements of all our room types are visible on all the booking sites and our own websites. The standard rooms in Amsterdam are small, but yet very comfortable. We never had complaints of footsteps or noise on our corridors. We wish you would have asked to speak to the manager so she would have assist you in this matter.
We think our front desk team is well aware of all the tourist places, but also all the hotspots of Amsterdam. They can give you information about anything in our city and we will always take our time to help our guest in any way possible.
We regret that this matter made you feel like you didn’t enjoy your stay. We do hope that you will come back to Amsterdam and choose to visit us again so we can show you that you can have a pleasant stay at our hotel.
You have a nice day.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I fell off by tram rails while crossing the road, and bled at knees and fingers. However, they have no first aid kit. When I asked "is there any alcohol or something like that? I'm bleeding" The staff said "No!"
Then, when I asked something, the UNKIND staff said "I cannot understand your english."
Yes, I know. My english is not good. English is not my language. However, I think I can sufficiently communicate with foreign people. Do I have to be fluent in English in order to stay in the hotel?
This hotel is externally quite clean, and good but is away from the central station. Moreover, it is is the most unkind hotel I've ever been and made me hate holland .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camille294197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear mrs. ,
Thank you for writing your review on Tripadvisor.
First of all our sincere apologies for not having an enjoyable stay in our beautiful country and our hotel.
We regret the fact that you fell on the tram rails, and that one of our colleagues could not be of assistance to you. We do have an emergency kit in case of our guest suffers from a minor injury such as yours. I am not sure what exactly happened, but we do strive for the best service towards our guest and we believe that all of our employees are well trained and have good skills to assist our guest in any way.
We do hope that you will return to Amsterdam and hopefully to our hotel so you can see that we keep improving ourselves.
You have a great day,
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights - it was absolutely horrendous. The photos were very misleading - inside, the room was very dark and even in the afternoon with the curtains open, it was hard to see a thing. One of the lights weren't working, and the receptionist said it was permanently broken. The beds were very hard, and even lopsided - they would threaten to collapse if sitting on the edge of the bed!

At night, there was no airconditioning and the room was VERY stuffy and hot. Not helped by the fact that the rooms are absolutely tiny, with barely any space to pass between the beds. Windows couldn't be kept open as there seemed to be a sewage system or something of the sort nearby - learnt this on the first night when we were all woken by the smell of urine.

Towels were very rough and old/worn out, felt like sandpaper. No shampoo/bathwash/toothpaste or hairdryer. Sink was practically right on top of toilet and it was impossible to sit straight on the toilet bowl!

The reception seemed to be very hit and miss - one polite receptionist there but the two ladies were very stark and rude, not helpful at all. Insisted on taking photocopies of all our documents (passport, credit card etc) as it was "policy" however after some firm resistance they conceded it was optional.

Definitely overpriced for what it is. Overall horrible stay there, will definitely never return - and do not advise anyone to book there! Only redeeming feature was the location, but there are many better value hotels around the same area!

Room Tip: Keep away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Front Office Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2012

Dear mrs. Danielle,
Thank you for writing a review.
We regret that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us in our hotel. All of our rooms wich are represented on our website and booking websites are exactly what you reserve and will stay in when you arrive at our hotel. We think that everyone has a different taste regarding style so it is very difficult to judge a hotel based on that. We love the darker interior, it gives it a warm welcoming feeling at least that is what we would like our guest to feel. All of our mattresses are updated every year and we test them ourselves. We don’t think our mattresses are hard, we actually think they are really comfortable, but again it is your personal taste.
Our hotel does not have air conditioning wich is also not stated on any of the websites this due to the fact that in the Netherlands we only have out of a whole year maybe if we are lucky 2 months of warm weather. We believe we are helping the environment by choosing not to have airco in our hotel. Our windows do open to a certain level for enough of fresh air to come into the rooms, but for safety reasons the windows can not open all the way.
We do offer our guest shampoo/soap wich are in our soap dispensers located in our bathrooms. This is a special soap for body, hands and hair. We provide this in dispencers to commit to the GreenKey rules, to safe the envirement. We also have toothpaste at the reception and we offer our guest also hairdryers wich are currently at the reception. All you have to do is call to the reception and we will bring one right up to the room. Soon we will be placing hairdryers in every room this for the convenience to our guests. We can only hope that when our guest arrive also take the time to read through our guestbook with all the information in there with what our hotel has to offer.
Our procedure of our check in is to ask for id cards/passports to make sure we know who stays at our hotel in case of emergency’s , we do make copy’s but will destroy them after check out. The guest can ask for the return of the photocopy after check out. We always ask for a creditcard when the guest decides to pay with a creditcard. We never take photocopy’s of the creditcard unless another person pays for the room with their creditcard and they are not staying at our hotel. This ofcourse with approval of the creditcard holder wich has to give us the permission to charge his or her creditcard for the room for this guest by email and therefore also need to send us a copy of the creditcard and his or her passport, this is all legal and for security reason only.
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay and we believe that we can only learn from all of this. We do hope that you will return to our hotel so we can show you that we do have our guests interest at heart and we do everything that we can to keep improving hotel ROBERTRAMON.
We hope you have a good day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the RobertRamon for a mid-week break recently and found it to be like some of the views posted on this site. We arrived late at night so the dark decor was a bit of a surprise, but the next morning was fine, the twin room had enough room for us and I'm not the smallest of people.
The room was cleaned and made up every day to a high standard just like the rest of the hotel.
The breakfast room was bright and there was a good selection if you like a continental start to your day, (cheaper to book in advance).
There was a nice lounge and outside area on the first floor with internet access and a vending machine with water, still and sparkling, juice and beer.
The location is first class and we booked it because we have been to Amsterdam many times and knew exactly where the hotel was, with many good dining and entertainements in the close vacinity.
Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Couples should ask for a twin room, they are slightly bigger and you can push the beds together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#169 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#108 of 374 in Amsterdam
884 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#76 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,080 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Museumzicht
Hotel Museumzicht
#227 of 374 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cornelisz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cornelisz

Address: PC Hooftstraat 24-28, 1017 BX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Robertramon)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $96 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cornelisz 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Cornelisz (former Hotel ROBERTRAMON) will enhance your city experience by staying at our central location. Situated on the most exclusive shopping street of the Netherlands, the P.C Hooftstraat, where all the top designers of the world have their exclusive shops. Only a few steps away from the hotel you'll find the famous museums from Amsterdam, the Concert House, the diamond exhibition and the house of bols. For something to eat and drink you can visit the nearby leidse square, Rembrandts square or the canal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cornelisz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Robertramon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing