We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Cornelisz
Nearby Hotels
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$764
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$329
$293
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Exchange(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$310
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$440
$400
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$1,135
$492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$424
$397
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
XO Hotels Park West(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$215
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$289
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$469
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (580)
Filter reviews
580 results
Traveler rating
150
236
124
49
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
236
124
49
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesigner shopsgreat locationbus and tram stopsnice loungevan gogh museumhard rock cafemuseum quarterfirst flooramsterdam signheineken experienceminute walklovely little hotelgood sizerooms are smallvending machineshort stayfree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
261 - 266 of 580 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This Washington the best surprise of our holidays! We were expecting to find an old, filthy hotel an, instead, found a very nicely renovated hotel, very modern, clean, with elevator and very nice room!! Yes, the room was small but very very clean and the small bathroom had everything one needs. Not far from the cathedral and with bus and tram stops on the street behind the hotel form where we could reach every place we wanted, even the airport!! The staff was always friendly to us so all in all we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will certainly come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yolbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Not a very pleasant hotel experience for us. Although the hotel staff was courteous and accommodating, the room itself was small, old, dark, hot, damp, and depressing overall. However the location is great, right in the heart of the museum district. Though we wouldn't go back personally, it might be fine if you just need a bed to crash on. We moved into the Best Western Apollo Museum Hotel next door, which cost about the same but was much nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techpreneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback on ROBERTRAMON, we are truly sorry that your stay was not as comfortable as you were expecting, our design is dark colours and limited lightings, to make the effect of the design working. The hotel is totally build new from the inside in 2008, which in our opinion doesn’t make it old inside. But of course taste is something very personal. As our Hotel is mostly fully booked we can see that many other guest appreciate our Hotel design.
We whish you had spoken with the reception or Guest Relation Manager during your stay and maybe there was a way to resolve your issues, for example by moving you to another room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The night reception staff on Thursday, 21st June, 2012, was so rude and impolite I seriously considered writing the money off and going someplace else right away. The rest of the staff and of my two nights stay then turned out o.k. except for the second night when I woke up from room neighbours partying hard at 5 a. m. in the morning. Price/quality o.k. for Amsterdam although I found the breakfast overpriced at 9€.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Peter187331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robertramon, Manager at Hotel Cornelisz, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Jan Peter,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, however maybe in this case it was better to inform the manager of the Hotel by phone or email. In our Hotel service and kindness from our staff towards our guest are most important.We have taken this complain very seriously and can inform you that this particular staff member is not working with our Hotel any longer. As far as the variety of the breakfast concerned we give a very wide choice for a 9,50 euro breakfast consisting of 3 types of cereals, 4 types of cold cuts, cheese, chocolate spread, assorted jam and marmalade, honey, peanut butter, fruit yoghurt, plain yoghurt, fruit cocktail, biscuit , assorted tea / coffee , water, orange juice and grape fruit juice, boiled eggs, scramble eggs , 3 types of assorted bread.
Concidering a Coffee in Amsterdam cost 2.50 euro we believe 9.50 euro for a full breakfast and eat as much as you like is very reasonable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Small sketchy baThroom. Other then location there is better I am sure

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddawgbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

horrible little hotel looked nothing like the pictures,
cold depressing room window didnt close! internet didnt work! safe didnt work!
room door locked when it wanted to! was afraid to leave valuables in the room
& thought id get stuck in the lift everytime i used it. id rather walk up the to the 5th floor
way off the track for dam square etc. not safe walking home at night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank luke w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews