We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great ambience, fresh seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius Seafood Restaurant

Lucius Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #121 of 3,335 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Lucius Seafood restaurant serves seven days a week, a variety of North Sea fish , shellfish and culinary delights in a traditional Amsterdam setting. The kitchen is open from 17:00 and stays open until midnight. For a festive start to a night out for example, with champagne and oysters, or a late dinner.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great ambience, fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We ordered the platter which comprise of oysters, whole lobster, crab claws, prawns, mussels, cockles and other shellfish. Huge for two. Very fresh and sweet. The other part that I love is their warm bread and delicious butter. For most restaurants, the bread tend to be hard and cold so it was a pleasant surprise to get warm bread with nice butter.

It has great ambience and is abuzz with activity. The service was excellent. My only regret is that I had no stomach space to try their mains. :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Lingling35100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    332
    93
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stein AR, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Fish and Ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ate here on March 28, 2014. The look of the restaurant is no frills and old fashioned. I loved the simple wood wainscoting and white and blue tiles. You immediately get the message that this is a serious place where the food is the protagonist. The waiters were very friendly and helpful and the service was impeccable. I had a salmon tartare for my first, followed by Baby Dover Sole. My husband wanted something totally Dutch and so let the waitress choose! He had raw herring with Dutch gin for his appetizer and a fantastic fish (perhaps Halibut) dish. The main course was accompanied by French fries, roast potatoes, and a scrumptious salad composed of greens and cole slaw. We drank a delicious Sancerre with the meal. For dessert he had a work of art composed of sorbet and various other things and I had an over-the-top chocolate mousse concoction! We paid about 70 Euros a person, which was very reasonable for what we had. We will definitely go back the next time we are in Amsterdam!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank appenzellfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“informal ambience , fantastic fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I ve been more then once in this fantastic place.
I tried to change my choise, but i can t avoid to eat the best sole in Holland.
Nice and informal restaurant, kind and quick service (that 's, sorry to say, something u can't find very often in Netherlands) .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Looking for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A good selection on the menu with some daily specials. Excellent service, the restaurant was busy but no suggestion of being rushed to release the table. We had mussels and shrimps for starters with dorade and catch of the day, all beautifully presented.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“There are better places for seafood....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We dined in a team of 5 within colleagues during a biz trip last week in Amsterdam.
The place is nice, quite crowded actually.
We decided to go for a Lucius plate for 5, consisting of a big variety of lobster, shrimps, giant shrimps, calms, mussels, crabs.
We had to ask to change the crab since it was completely frozen, the clams and shells were ok but nothing special, while the lobster was very good.
I was very disappointed when I saw in the bill that we were charged 2x55€ for 2 Lucius plates (this is ok) and 62.5€ for a separate plate. Why charging the single plate price once we ordered 5?
Besides this I was very sick two days after the dinner but I am not completely sure if it is their fault, although I have some bad feelings.

One additional remark : for the price they charge you they could give you some towels to clean yourself better!
I will not come again in this place anyway

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing