We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“informal ambience , fantastic fish!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius Seafood Restaurant

Lucius Seafood Restaurant
Spuistraat 247, 1012 VP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
31206241831
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 3,337 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, Soups, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Lucius Seafood restaurant serves seven days a week, a variety of North Sea fish , shellfish and culinary delights in a traditional Amsterdam setting. The kitchen is open from 17:00 and stays open until midnight. For a festive start to a night out for example, with champagne and oysters, or a late dinner.
italia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“informal ambience , fantastic fish!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I ve been more then once in this fantastic place.
I tried to change my choise, but i can t avoid to eat the best sole in Holland.
Nice and informal restaurant, kind and quick service (that 's, sorry to say, something u can't find very often in Netherlands) .

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gabitalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    331
    93
    37
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Looking for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A good selection on the menu with some daily specials. Excellent service, the restaurant was busy but no suggestion of being rushed to release the table. We had mussels and shrimps for starters with dorade and catch of the day, all beautifully presented.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Geoff N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedano al Lambro, Italy
Level Contributor
328 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“There are better places for seafood....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We dined in a team of 5 within colleagues during a biz trip last week in Amsterdam.
The place is nice, quite crowded actually.
We decided to go for a Lucius plate for 5, consisting of a big variety of lobster, shrimps, giant shrimps, calms, mussels, crabs.
We had to ask to change the crab since it was completely frozen, the clams and shells were ok but nothing special, while the lobster was very good.
I was very disappointed when I saw in the bill that we were charged 2x55€ for 2 Lucius plates (this is ok) and 62.5€ for a separate plate. Why charging the single plate price once we ordered 5?
Besides this I was very sick two days after the dinner but I am not completely sure if it is their fault, although I have some bad feelings.

One additional remark : for the price they charge you they could give you some towels to clean yourself better!
I will not come again in this place anyway

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corrado R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Quite small fish restaurant with VERY high standards and super service. Excellent food and wine and waiters were great. Will definitely come here again and can highly recommend this restaurant is you love fish and seafood.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“superfresh sellfish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Fantastic seafood, very fresh. Simple but effective interior. Good service with attentive staff. Lovely whine list. You feel refreshed after the meal and would readily come beck.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aplund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing