We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“They really are fish experts, not just saying it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lucius Seafood Restaurant

Lucius Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #125 of 3,377 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Dutch, Seafood, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Lucius Seafood restaurant serves seven days a week, a variety of North Sea fish , shellfish and culinary delights in a traditional Amsterdam setting. The kitchen is open from 17:00 and stays open until midnight. For a festive start to a night out for example, with champagne and oysters, or a late dinner.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“They really are fish experts, not just saying it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I have eaten here before and came back, even though there are hundreds of others. Many restaurants claim to be seafood experts but this one really is. The menu is not huge but it is adequate. I had baby soles which were cooked perfectly. The wine list is also limited---I had Picpoul at a reasonable 20 euros. Service good and there is generally a good, though quiet, and maybe even slightly supressed atmosphere about the place. I suppose it changes from day to day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank davidnkaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    342
    97
    37
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I came with my husband on the 15th December 2013!

We had the fixed price menu and it was excellent value for money at 39 Euro each for 3 courses!

My husband had the King Prawn cake with poached egg, the Pike and then the toffee and nut cake all which he said were delicious and I had the Mackerel, the mixed seafood and the cheese and could not fault it!!

Lovely restaurant with great staff who even moved us to a preferred seat beside the massive fish tank as we were there early!!

All in all a lovely experience at an excellent value of £85 for 3 courses and a bottle of really nice wine!!

If you like seafood then I would highly recommend!!

Helpful?
Thank SunnyScotland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“wonderfull bourride (Burride)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This restaurant was cosy, friendly, and had excellent food. I had a non-traditional Bouride and it was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eridotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
222 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect for seafood lovers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were here with a big group of people because we all were craving good seafood and fresh fish. This place was recommended to us by the concierge at the Andaz hotel and it turned out to be amazing. The entrance seems to be somewhat deceiving, yet the restaurant inside is buzzy, hip and full of amazing smells! Really great! Good choice of food, nice Prosecco - overall a definite must, and in such a central location! Do make a reservation ahead, because they are very popular!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice fresh food and pleasant atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We keep going back to this place. We try to eat here once every time we go to Amsterdam. We usually have the oysters for starters and moules (if in season) and prawns for main. This time we also tried the steak and crab combination which was very nice. They have great deserts, worth trying. Service is professional but not very friendly. The waiters almost never change and they do their job well. Try to get a table by the aquarium - it is very nice to watch the fish between courses. You should reserve a table, it can get quite crowded.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vacanta_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucius Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lucius Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing