We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Ranked #303 of 3,558 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: European, Dutch, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Szmulewicz is since 1990 a small, informal, cosy restaurant (with terrace) in the centre of Amsterdam, near Rembrandtplein. The name suggests a Polish kitchen, but the chefs have different nationalities, and are inspired by the international (Mediterranean) kitchen. Dutch dishes are also being served. We all speak English, and some of us speak French and German as well. Since the place is frequently visited by locals, please make a reservation!
1 review
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

This restaurant was just round the corner from our hotel, ate there on our first night and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 course meal. Going back tonight because they ran out of Creme Brûlée

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RadWalker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    78
    14
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great wine, nice staff. Situated by the Rembrandtplein, it's an excellent choice to end your busy day. We'll be back for sure next time we'll come to Amsterdam!

Helpful?
Thank Joana S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food reasonably priced. Would def come back! Friendly staff. Had two items from the specials board. Both excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Tulsehillboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“lovely food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant following a recommendation and weren't disappointed. They fitted us in,(6 of us) despite not having a booking and the staff were very helpful. Most of our party had steaks which they said were great, and the special salmon was very tasty,The place has a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
130 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

My friend, a resident of Amsterdam, took me to this restaurant. This is their family's favorite. The menu changes frequently and they have very special offerings such as kangaroo meat. We started with a huge serving of nachos and antipasto. The lamb dish is excellent and the steak is tender and juicy. Their ice tea is made with sparkling water and somehow really gives it a kick. The portions are very generous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing