We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Ranked #302 of 3,425 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
1 review
“Great dinner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Great food, great wine, nice staff. Situated by the Rembrandtplein, it's an excellent choice to end your busy day. We'll be back for sure next time we'll come to Amsterdam!

Helpful?
Thank Joana S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    76
    13
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food - lovely atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Fabulous food reasonably priced. Would def come back! Friendly staff. Had two items from the specials board. Both excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Tulsehillboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
147 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“lovely food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited this restaurant following a recommendation and weren't disappointed. They fitted us in,(6 of us) despite not having a booking and the staff were very helpful. Most of our party had steaks which they said were great, and the special salmon was very tasty,The place has a great atmosphere and we really enjoyed our evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
127 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

My friend, a resident of Amsterdam, took me to this restaurant. This is their family's favorite. The menu changes frequently and they have very special offerings such as kangaroo meat. We started with a huge serving of nachos and antipasto. The lamb dish is excellent and the steak is tender and juicy. Their ice tea is made with sparkling water and somehow really gives it a kick. The portions are very generous.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catlady88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We spotted this little restaurant off the Rembrandt square and thought it looked a little different from the usual tourist fare.
It is small cosy, quite quiet when we were in. Food was good. I had kangaroo skewer with mango and papaya and yam croquettes. Very tasty. Could definitely recommend the baked marzipan and blood orange ice cream. On special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing