We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good food and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Szmulewicz

Restaurant Szmulewicz
Ranked #217 of 3,334 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $40
Cuisines: European, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We spotted this little restaurant off the Rembrandt square and thought it looked a little different from the usual tourist fare.
It is small cosy, quite quiet when we were in. Food was good. I had kangaroo skewer with mango and papaya and yam croquettes. Very tasty. Could definitely recommend the baked marzipan and blood orange ice cream. On special.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie6474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    73
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Trying to get away from the usual offerings of steaks/burgers and chips we stumbled across this small restaurant just off Rembrandtplein. We ate there on three of the four nights we were in Amsterdam. Apart from their normal menu there were always a couple of starters, main courses and desserts on the specials board. Lovely freshly prepared dishes and great friendly service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rustygary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

When you get tired of the fried meat-and-potato balls, burgers, chips and stodgy pancakes, go to this restaurant and have something entirely different.
We had a starter-size plate of smoked duck breast with tagliatelli and a main meal size plate of rucula (rocket) in a dainty balsamic dressing, covered in plenty of slices of rare beef fillet.
The restaurant lets you order most dishes in two different portion sizes which is useful for us with smaller appetites.
We wanted to eat there again at Sunday lunch time but were told by the proprietor that they only open n the evenings. He then recommended we try U6, on the other side of Rembrandt plein, This we did and loved them, too! (Read my review)

Highly recommended, and our only regret is that we only got to eat there once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hl.tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good for dinner & wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We found this through tripadvisor as we were looking for something near the hotel we were staying in. This is on a side street which is quite, we went in for a meal in the afternoon (after normal lunch hours, but normal tourist hours :) ) but they told us we have to wait as they will open at dinner time, we almost gave up when a gentleman who was making a reservation told us we should not give up on the place so we made a reservation for dinner.
We should thank this gentleman because it was indeed a very good meal, entree we had the platter with cold cuts, cheese, salads etc, main course i had the portuguese duck (a bit spicy, but you may water it down with wine) and my brother had some sort of fish (i cannot remember).
minuses were related to the selection of white wines (i am Romanian and we tend to be very demanding of foreign white wines as our local ones are quite good) and the deserts. overall a good pick for a nice dinner in a cosy place - book in advance, it gets completely full!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leave-u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant early one evening during a recent stay in Amsterdam. It was packed but they managed to accommodate us later on in the evening. It was worth the wait. The food was delicious. Two of our party had one of the specials - Grandmother's stew - which they claimed was excellent. I had the piri piri chicken which was far superior to one we had had earlier in the week - very tasty and plenty of it. The house wine was good too and reasonably priced. The waiting staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The toilets however could do with some attention.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Szmulewicz also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Szmulewicz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing