We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best B&Bs I Have Ever Stayed In”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #29 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My friends think its funny that I must have the gene for accidentally finding the best B&B's in every city that I stay in but, yes, it looks like I've done it again. The warm welcome I received from my very gracious hosts Vera and Jasper at this incredibly charming B&B in Amsterdam's beautiful and scenic "Jordaan" district was just the beginning. I had 4 meetings to go to on my first day in Amsterdam and my hosts did everything to make my meetings a success from mapping out locations and routes to giving me advice as to where to stop to see the sights along the way. My room in the Eelhouse itself was wonderful -- it was exactly as it appears in the website, and Vera's breakfast platter of egg, fruit, cheese, toasts, etc. in the morning was a highlight. The Eelhouse is right in the heart of Amsterdam's most beautiful district: the canals, the cobblestone streets, the tulips, etc -- its all real and very close by, and the house itself is from the 17th Century (and has the extremely steep 2x4 foot curving staircase to prove it!). I have nothing but happy memories of my stay at this fantastic B&B, one of the best I've ever stayed in -- and that's saying a lot. I will certainly stay at the Eelhouse again next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newyorkguy38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
There are newer reviews for Eelhouse B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 188 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2009

Spent three nights here in April. The location is very nice. The Jordon neighborhood is great with lots of restaurants nearby to choose from. The room is light and airy with large windows on two sides of the corner room An easy enough walk to Central Station. Our host Vera was very helpful with our needs. Breakfast brought to our room in the morning was GREAT! A chilled bottle of wine and some fresh fruit were waiting for us upon arrival. We had a micorwave and coffe maker. Everything we needed. Comfortabe and safe.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bagladyOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I finally noticed The Eelhouse on Trip Advisor. It wasn't in the Trip Advisor database when I made my stay, back in December of 2006. I'm unsure is Klaas is still one of the owners or not, but he was great.
The best part of of The Eelhouse is the location. This is about a 10 minute walk from the center of Amsterdam and is away from most of the touristy parts. This is a major positive to me. The Jordaan neighborhood is amazing. From the street markets on different days of the week to the great little cafes and restaurants. There is also a tram stop nearby. It is a little farther out from the center but goes around the city where you can connect to other trams. Walking into the center is no problem at all, and there is a small bus/minivan that can take you from Central Station to the Noorderkerk, just up the street.
The rooms are pretty typical bedroom with a private bathroom, mini-kitchenette and a small television. If you are going in the winter, the heat works very well and the bathroom has heated floors! The breakfast was a great mix of yogurt, bread and cold cuts. However, and this was my only complaint, one day we mysteriously didn't receive a breakfast. The owner was very apologetic and gave us an even bigger breakfast, with bread to take home with us, on our last morning.
Beware, the stairway to the rooms is very steep! I would not recommend for older travelers.
Overall, the biggest plus is the location. Everything else is great, too, but the location really makes it amazing. There are a ton of little bars right near Eelhouse. It is a quiet area, with a schoolyard across the street, and far enough away from the tourist traps. If I were to go back to Amsterdam, I would stay at The Eelhouse again.

Food Recommendation: I have two. As you walk into city center, on Prinsenstraat 5, is a cafe called Eetcafe Het Kalfje. It is a pretty typical Amsterdam cafe, but the owner was very friendly, there wasn't a large crowd, the food was great and it was very cozy. There are many more like it, but we really enjoyed this one and it was a short walk. Also, near the Noorderkerk is another cafe called Winkel that has amazing Dutch apple pie! Thanks to Klaas for this recommendation.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chemmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2009

Eel House is a charming, modern place to stay in the Jordaan neighborhood. Rooms are cosy without being too small and the breakfast spread brought to your door is a nice way to start the day. The mini fridge is a nice touch as well. Vera is an excellent hostess and very knowledgeable. It's about a ten minute walk to the city center. Just be prepared for the steep, original staircase.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Traveler_K13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2008

The Eel House has permanently solved one question for me: where to stay in Amsterdam. The hosts are accommodating to a fault. Their rooms are clean and cozy, with much character. The location is ideal: a brisk 10-minute walk from the hubbub of city center. Breakfast is spectacular. For the single traveler who is fine with steep, steep stairs, the Eel House is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Heffay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

An amazing little gem in the hear of Amsterdam. Gay owned and shows it in all the great extras! Fresh flowers, stocked fridge, and served breakfast to your room!

Quiet area, with a 10 - 15 min walk to the central station. Our room was on the top floor, great view of the area, and good leg work out as it is like climbing a lighthouse, common of course in Amsterdam!

Great service from Klaas the owner, and great source of information of Amsterdam, what to do and see!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aviatorstarboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Maria0891 X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#109 of 371 in Amsterdam
342 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel van Onna
Hotel van Onna
#203 of 371 in Amsterdam
952 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#43 of 337 in Amsterdam
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#51 of 337 in Amsterdam
119 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#38 of 337 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Jordaan
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
Bayan Bed n Breakfast
#47 of 337 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $151 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing