We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #32 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

With being barely 15 min walk from the central station and located in the beautiful location of jordaan I loved our stay at Eel house. The owner is one of the finest host I have ever come across and his advices and suggestion were spot on. Loved chatting up with the guy. The location is perfect for all those who want to be close to everything major and yet wanting an affordable, efficient and suitable stay. The only down point is the whole climbing scene but then comes handy when you want to keep that holiday fats at bay. Overall it was a great experience and would be on my list of recommendations for every Amsterdam itinerary.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
113
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed in B&B at end of April... Great location, close to everything and very quiet at the same time. We were able to get a good night sleep even during King's Night and King's Day.
Fresh and filling breakfast was served to our room at time we asked for. And very special thank you to Vera - her hospitality really made our stay in Amsterdam very special. We fell in love with city and definitely will be back to Amsterdam and to Eelhouse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lana094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermeo, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at the Eelhouse in April ´14 on our first trip together to Amsterdam. We, honestly, have got nothing but good things to say about this B&B. It is extremely well situaded, a less than 10 minutes walk from Westerkerk, which is next door to Anne Frank´s house. In 15 minutes one can make his way to the very heart of the city.

We were greated by the charming Vera who showed us to our room, a cute penthouse room, perfect for a short stay. The entrance is private, so you can come in as late as you like without fear of disturbing anyone. The room itself, while small, is charming, clean, has an ensuite bathroom, a minibar that is refilled every day at no extra cost, a kettle that one can use to brew tea or coffe (again, on the house, no limits) and a little table where we would be treated every day to a copious, delicious breakfast that it normally got us through the day and then some.

Now, considering the pain the access stairs are -63 steps of wooden, uneven original staircase-, the fact that Vera would come every day all the way to our room carrying a tray with our breakfast just shows the lenght they go to ensure that your stay is as comfortable and nice as possible.

There are nice cafés and pubs around, and a really good Thai restaurant, Kinaree, that we particularly enjoyed.

Would I stay there again? Definitely. Would I recommend this place to everyone I know? Absolutely.

Top marks!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stopped at the Eelhouse for a weekend, and the stay this time was as good as it was the previous year.
The room was again lovely and clean with a huge comfy big bed. Vera's breakfast are still brill and very filling with boiled eggs, fruit bread, jams, sliced meat and cheese and croissants.

The fact it's situated in the Jordaan area makes the place feel like a home from home and very safe when walking from bar to bar in the area's down the road, with plenty of amenities on the door step. We booked the taxi this time that's recommended on there website and would say this is much easier than catching the train into the centre and then walking or grabbing a taxi from there especially if you have time constraints.

We can't wait to go back and maybe spend a week there in the summer. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their other location:
Quartier Neuf’ is located at Wolvenstraat 10 on the lovely Nine Streets in the heart of Amsterdam.

This small B&B was exactly what we were looking for:
1. A clean room, newly and nicely furnished, with a good shower
2. In the heart of the city, ( the Nine Streets - Canal Area )
3. A room where we could experience the flavor of being in Amsterdam.
4. Near restaurants, shops, museums, and the canals of Amsterdam
This was not the Raddison or Marriott hotel but just what we were looking for, a small single room in a wonderful neighborhood, although up a very steep, but manageable, set of stairs. Vera and Jasper were the congenial hosts.

A delicious complete breakfast was brought to our room each morning, along with good advice on local restaurants and things to do in the area.

This was a perfect Amsterdam experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Eelhouse in October last year on our first trip to Amsterdam. We should have thanked Vera and Jasper before now, because they were the perfect hosts. Although a B&B, you have your own entrance to the building, which makes it feel more like an apartment with the luxury of a healthy, generous breakfast delivered to your room. The complimentary wine, beer and juice in the fridge is a lovely touch.
The Joordan district is perfect, great bars, independent shops and small galleries. Just ask Vera and Jasper for information, they are very helpful and knowledgeable. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redamy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Amsterdam that is different than the usual hotel, try The Eelhouse. Located in The Joordan within walking distance of Dam Square and the Anne Frank House, The Eelhouse was great. We stayed for 3 days in February while traveling to Tanzania for a safari and were completely satisfied. This B&B is in an old Amsterdam house built in the 1600's. Vera runs the Eelhouse while her husband, Jasper, runs another B&B nearby. A very filling breakfast is brought to your room and complimentary beer, wine, juice and water in a mini-fridge was unexpected. Vera answered all our questions (no matter what time of day it was). She recommended several restaurants nearby and they turned out to be super. We definitely would stay at The Eelhouse again if we ever return to Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you have any problems climbing very steep, narrow stair, ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#120 of 368 in Amsterdam
337 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#40 of 336 in Amsterdam
219 reviews
Jordaan
Hotel Cappuccino
Hotel Cappuccino
#36 of 336 in Amsterdam
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#77 of 336 in Amsterdam
53 reviews
Jordaan
Noordermarkt Apartments
Noordermarkt Apartments
#117 of 234 in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Jordaan
BnB Bloembed
BnB Bloembed
#205 of 336 in Amsterdam
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing