We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still Fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #38 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Still Fab”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stopped at the Eelhouse for a weekend, and the stay this time was as good as it was the previous year.
The room was again lovely and clean with a huge comfy big bed. Vera's breakfast are still brill and very filling with boiled eggs, fruit bread, jams, sliced meat and cheese and croissants.

The fact it's situated in the Jordaan area makes the place feel like a home from home and very safe when walking from bar to bar in the area's down the road, with plenty of amenities on the door step. We booked the taxi this time that's recommended on there website and would say this is much easier than catching the train into the centre and then walking or grabbing a taxi from there especially if you have time constraints.

We can't wait to go back and maybe spend a week there in the summer. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
110
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their other location:
Quartier Neuf’ is located at Wolvenstraat 10 on the lovely Nine Streets in the heart of Amsterdam.

This small B&B was exactly what we were looking for:
1. A clean room, newly and nicely furnished, with a good shower
2. In the heart of the city, ( the Nine Streets - Canal Area )
3. A room where we could experience the flavor of being in Amsterdam.
4. Near restaurants, shops, museums, and the canals of Amsterdam
This was not the Raddison or Marriott hotel but just what we were looking for, a small single room in a wonderful neighborhood, although up a very steep, but manageable, set of stairs. Vera and Jasper were the congenial hosts.

A delicious complete breakfast was brought to our room each morning, along with good advice on local restaurants and things to do in the area.

This was a perfect Amsterdam experience.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Harris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at the Eelhouse in October last year on our first trip to Amsterdam. We should have thanked Vera and Jasper before now, because they were the perfect hosts. Although a B&B, you have your own entrance to the building, which makes it feel more like an apartment with the luxury of a healthy, generous breakfast delivered to your room. The complimentary wine, beer and juice in the fridge is a lovely touch.
The Joordan district is perfect, great bars, independent shops and small galleries. Just ask Vera and Jasper for information, they are very helpful and knowledgeable. A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redamy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

If you are looking for a place to stay in Amsterdam that is different than the usual hotel, try The Eelhouse. Located in The Joordan within walking distance of Dam Square and the Anne Frank House, The Eelhouse was great. We stayed for 3 days in February while traveling to Tanzania for a safari and were completely satisfied. This B&B is in an old Amsterdam house built in the 1600's. Vera runs the Eelhouse while her husband, Jasper, runs another B&B nearby. A very filling breakfast is brought to your room and complimentary beer, wine, juice and water in a mini-fridge was unexpected. Vera answered all our questions (no matter what time of day it was). She recommended several restaurants nearby and they turned out to be super. We definitely would stay at The Eelhouse again if we ever return to Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you have any problems climbing very steep, narrow stair, ask for a lower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Co
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Eelhouse in November, and loved it. The room is clean, pretty, cozy and the views out of the windows are spectacular! The breakfast was great, and like others have said, there's enough for breakfast and lunch! The complimentary wine, beer, juice and water in the mini fridge are an extra nice touch, and they are even replenished daily.

Vera and Jasper (and their kitties!) are both very friendly and helpful. The B&B and the Jordaan neighborhood are great, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murphy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This has to be one of the best B&B We have ever stayed in. Vera and Jasper were perfect hosts made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Wholesome breakfast in your room each morning. Beer juice and wine in the fridge at no extra cost also gave great information on where to go and what to do in Amsterdam. The room was cosy, clean and bright(January is cold in Amsterdam but our room was so cosy and warm). The location could not be bettered Jordaan has a real bohemian feel to it and its great to mix with the locals who are really friendly.So a big thanks to Vera and Jasper for an excellent stay at the Eelhouse. Highly recommended

Room Tip: If you dont like climbing steep stairs request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tangledupinblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A great getaway in the fun city of Amsterdam. The owners are perfect hosts, the B&B is clean, cute, reasonably priced and located within walking distance of everything Amsterdam has to offer, yet just enough away from the center (Joordan) to make you feel more like a local than a tourist. It is right down from the Ann Frank house, perfect for getting there before the huge lines arrive and easy to hop on a canal boat from there if you want to cruise the canals. Everything from bike rentals and grocery stores to restaurants and other famous sites are at a stone's throw as well. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasTraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#144 of 364 in Amsterdam
299 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
't Hotel
't Hotel
#141 of 364 in Amsterdam
218 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#23 of 329 in Amsterdam
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#48 of 329 in Amsterdam
116 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#32 of 226 in Amsterdam
140 reviews
Jordaan
B&B 180 Graden
B&B 180 Graden
#87 of 329 in Amsterdam
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing