We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eelhouse B&B
Nearby Hotels
$238
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$306
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$295
$236
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$242
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $231/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$317
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $274/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$574
$334
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Toren(Amsterdam)
$493
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveler rating
171
26
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
26
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseel houseevery morningbring breakfastgreat toucheswithin walking distancesteep stairsyogurtcomfortable reading chairbed superlovely comfortable bedtraditional amsterdamgreat hostscoffee makerspent nightstrain stationboiled eggsthird floor
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 199 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed for four days at Eelhouse and really enjoyed our time in Amsterdam!
The owner Vera made us feel very welcome, with good guidance about the city (maps, info, things to do) and great breakfasts every morning.

Location is perfect, near central station, walking distance, and well connected to public transportation (trams, bus)
Room was clean, spacious and comfortable.
We would definitly recommend Eelhouse, because it offers all the required services and gives you the authentic taste of Amsterdam in the area of Jordaan.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

There is very little to add to the list of excellent reviews this little guesthouse has already received except to say that all positive comments are well deserved. My expectations were high due to all the great reviews I had read on this site prior to booking but those high expectations were met and exceeded.

I think we were in the second from top apartment and it was very homely, Vera was a very friendly and welcoming hostess, striking the perfect balance of being accomodating and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was excellent and having your own little coffee maker in the room was handy for all day caffeine kicks. Of course the stairs are steep and narrow so lower apartments may suit some.

We loved the neighbourhood, quiet without seeming isolated and with all local amenities within a 2 minute walk. You almost feel like a local while you stay because the location has such a residential feel just outside the main tourist areas.

Can't fault the Eelhouse B and B, a nice homely guesthouse in a lovely neighbourhood and a great base to explore this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMunrooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

This quaint little B&B is located in the middle of the Jordaan, one of the oldest neighborhoods in Amsterdam. The owners Vera and Jasper are very friendly, helpful and very professional! They can help you with all your questions and even helped my husband plan a surprise cake and flowers in the room when we arrived since it was my birthday that weekend!!! Perfect for a romantic getaway and starting point to explore the beautiful city of Amsterdam! Vera and Jasper can give you excellent tips to see not just the tourist attractions but also to see the real Amsterdam! The breakfast they provide was way more than expected and the room was very clean! Best weekend getaway we have been on! Thanks Vera and Jasper! We look forward to returning!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Eva S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice, mid Sept. and late Oct. for a total of 5 nights. Vera is a wonderful hostess, who climbs the narrow steep spiral staircase many many times a day, and will gladly offer to pack your luggage up the stairs. (trust me, the carrying of even carry-on sized luggage up four flights is at times death defying) We met Jasper on our second visit and he is like his wife -- a delight.
Their breakfast is GREAT, and so plentiful we packed the remainder up for picnic lunches. A nice touch with the room is the small fridge stocked with water, a couple of beer and a bottle of wine -- all INCLUDED with the room cost. (E110).

The room itself? We requested the loft based on some reviews, BUT, it is FOUR floors up those damned stairs. The room itself is very small, and the bathroom is tiny with one of those showers that is not separate and is incorporated into the end of the skinny bathroom. We know this is a very old Amsterdam house, and that is pretty neat, but the loft was too small for our bumbling feet.

I also know that AMS isn't inexpensive, and the room rate was market, and the location is very good, and the area (Jordaan, and a 20 minute walk from Central Station), full of restaurants of every ilk, but if we were going to stay again, it would be the lower level unit ( a bit larger and more accessible)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Calling yourself a B&B can mean many things...in this case it means a delightful apartment in a small home, in a quiet well located neighborhood, with in-keepers that were perfectly attentive, but never intrusive.

Our room was a cozy apartment in an authentic Amsterdam Canal style home, with a private entrance, Very steep steps, small but efficient spaces, and windows that opened with a view of rooftops and a small neighborhood park. Lack of AC might be a problem in August, but I would trade the sound of church bells, and kids playing in the park for the hum of a mechanical AC unit, and the atmosphere of an impersonal hotel.

I was initially concerned that the Eel house was a bit to far removed from the center of the "action"...yes it is in a quiet neighborhood, outside the Western canal ring, but since Amsterdam is such a compact city, we were able to walk everywhere, very convenient to the Anne Frank house, and close to many neighborhood restaurants and small shops...and I never minded walking the extra 5 or 10 minutes back to my room...away from the crowds in the center of the city...through interesting streets to our wonderful neighborhood.

Breakfast was brought to the room at an exact time of my choosing, and I likes making my own excellent coffee and tea with our own coffee maker and water kettle. It was very relaxing to sit at "Our" breakfast table, with my partner, eating a filling and fresh breakfast...including farm fresh boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, and fresh bread...in our cozy space.

As you can tell, spaces are small...The Eel house is located in Amsterdam after all, both the room and bathroom are "cozy" but there is plenty of room in the apartment, for a comfortable queen sized bed, and nice breakfast table, and the room has a small Mini-Fridge, restocked everyday with bottled water, beer and wine!

Stay here if you want to experience the feeling of a quaint apartment, in a real home, with genuinely nice in-keepers, who are politely attentive.

Stay here if you want to be in a neighborhood that is in a charming part of the city, just far enough removed from the action to be delightful.

The Eel House is a great blend of value, location and relaxing comfort!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews