We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but a tad small.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eelhouse B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eelhouse B&B
Ranked #30 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
95 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location but a tad small.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed twice, mid Sept. and late Oct. for a total of 5 nights. Vera is a wonderful hostess, who climbs the narrow steep spiral staircase many many times a day, and will gladly offer to pack your luggage up the stairs. (trust me, the carrying of even carry-on sized luggage up four flights is at times death defying) We met Jasper on our second visit and he is like his wife -- a delight.
Their breakfast is GREAT, and so plentiful we packed the remainder up for picnic lunches. A nice touch with the room is the small fridge stocked with water, a couple of beer and a bottle of wine -- all INCLUDED with the room cost. (E110).

The room itself? We requested the loft based on some reviews, BUT, it is FOUR floors up those damned stairs. The room itself is very small, and the bathroom is tiny with one of those showers that is not separate and is incorporated into the end of the skinny bathroom. We know this is a very old Amsterdam house, and that is pretty neat, but the loft was too small for our bumbling feet.

I also know that AMS isn't inexpensive, and the room rate was market, and the location is very good, and the area (Jordaan, and a 20 minute walk from Central Station), full of restaurants of every ilk, but if we were going to stay again, it would be the lower level unit ( a bit larger and more accessible)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    23
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
109
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Calling yourself a B&B can mean many things...in this case it means a delightful apartment in a small home, in a quiet well located neighborhood, with in-keepers that were perfectly attentive, but never intrusive.

Our room was a cozy apartment in an authentic Amsterdam Canal style home, with a private entrance, Very steep steps, small but efficient spaces, and windows that opened with a view of rooftops and a small neighborhood park. Lack of AC might be a problem in August, but I would trade the sound of church bells, and kids playing in the park for the hum of a mechanical AC unit, and the atmosphere of an impersonal hotel.

I was initially concerned that the Eel house was a bit to far removed from the center of the "action"...yes it is in a quiet neighborhood, outside the Western canal ring, but since Amsterdam is such a compact city, we were able to walk everywhere, very convenient to the Anne Frank house, and close to many neighborhood restaurants and small shops...and I never minded walking the extra 5 or 10 minutes back to my room...away from the crowds in the center of the city...through interesting streets to our wonderful neighborhood.

Breakfast was brought to the room at an exact time of my choosing, and I likes making my own excellent coffee and tea with our own coffee maker and water kettle. It was very relaxing to sit at "Our" breakfast table, with my partner, eating a filling and fresh breakfast...including farm fresh boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, and fresh bread...in our cozy space.

As you can tell, spaces are small...The Eel house is located in Amsterdam after all, both the room and bathroom are "cozy" but there is plenty of room in the apartment, for a comfortable queen sized bed, and nice breakfast table, and the room has a small Mini-Fridge, restocked everyday with bottled water, beer and wine!

Stay here if you want to experience the feeling of a quaint apartment, in a real home, with genuinely nice in-keepers, who are politely attentive.

Stay here if you want to be in a neighborhood that is in a charming part of the city, just far enough removed from the action to be delightful.

The Eel House is a great blend of value, location and relaxing comfort!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandmantv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Vic
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Eelhouse and really enjoyed our stay. Both Jasper & Vera were very helpful and the breakfast each morning was delicious and plentiful. The location of the Eelhouse was great . It was only 15 mins walk to either the station, Dam Square or Anne Frank house and neighbourhood was quiet. Apart from the steep and windy stairs the house had alot of charm and character. The room was very comfortable with a microwave , kettle and coffee machine. The area was very safe as we walked around at night to take in the sights and get photos of the canals and lights. We even found the neighbours to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieMelbourneVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Difficult to find enough superlatives to describe this place. Start with the proprietors - Vera and Jasper - could not have been more kind, informative, or accommodating. Perfect location to all the sites and good restaurants. Very old and charming historic home set across from a park. Beautiful large windows overlook the streets below and let in the cool breezes. Room with small refrig stocked with wine, beer, juice, and water (complimentary!). Fantastic breakfast. Good value for the money. Highly recommended - will return for sure on the next visit. Only one caveat - steep steps and lots of them (Jasper handles the luggage, bless him!), so not suited for the arthritic or otherwise limited. Trust us - you will not regret you reservation or stay at the Eelhouse B&B!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MARCUS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

You or your taxi driver won't find this place by any signs.....there aren't any. Go by the address and you'll get there. Wonderful, modernized room in a corner building about a 7-minute walk from Ann Franke's house. The Landlords are a young couple, Vera and Jasper. They'll help you and your luggage up and down the steep staircase to your room. And Vera brings you breakfast to your room at your convenience. An interesting combo coffee-expresso-type machine makes individual cups of coffee in your room. We only spent 2 nights there after our river cruise, but we really liked the place and Amsterdam in general. The room and bed were very comfortable.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. The top one is a little smaller, but the other 2 are the same. The difference...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duckytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved our stay with Vera and Jasper who gave good directions. it is a bit of a walk from Centraal Station but close to everything while still nice and quiet at night. it was lovely and clean and our hosts were very generous with their time. The breakfast was lovely and included fresh croissants, fruit, yogurt, meat cheeses. There were chocolates in the room and all in all very delightful, we would totally recommend the Eel House

Room Tip: Always ask for directions to your room. I think every room in the Eel House is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryV2X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Texel island. What at amazing place, our only compliant is that our stay was too short. We were greeted by the friendly owners who took us to our room. The room was beautiful and the fridge had a complimentary bottle of wine, two beers, water and orange juice! The lady gave us advice on what to see and do in Amsterdam. The location is perfect in a really nice area only a 15 minute walk from the train station. In the morning we were brought breakfast in our room. We couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shermer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
Linden Hotel
Linden Hotel
#145 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Jordaan
Sjudoransj
Sjudoransj
#23 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Jordaan
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
WestViolet Bed & Breakfast
#43 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
B&B La Festa
B&B La Festa
#33 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Jordaan
Amphora Apartment
Amphora Apartment
#27 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Jordaan
Noordermarkt Apartments
Noordermarkt Apartments
#114 of 221 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eelhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eelhouse B&B

Property: Eelhouse B&B
Address: Tweede Lindendwarsstraat 21, 1015 LH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming and small guesthouse in the heart of Amsterdam. A lovely historic neighborhood, across the street from a square. Modern rooms, each with bath and a french balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Eelhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eelhouse Bed And Breakfast
Eelhouse Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing