We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eelhouse B&B
Nearby Hotels
$217
$206
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$462
$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$237
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$297
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
$250
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$280
$175
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$473
$394
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$316
$292
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$524
$351
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
$62
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveler rating
169
26
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
26
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewseel houseevery morninganne frank housebring breakfastgreat toucheswithin walking distancesteep stairsyogurtcomfortable reading chairbed superlovely comfortable bedtraditional amsterdamgreat hostscoffee makertrain stationspent nightscold cuts
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 197 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Texel island. What at amazing place, our only compliant is that our stay was too short. We were greeted by the friendly owners who took us to our room. The room was beautiful and the fridge had a complimentary bottle of wine, two beers, water and orange juice! The lady gave us advice on what to see and do in Amsterdam. The location is perfect in a really nice area only a 15 minute walk from the train station. In the morning we were brought breakfast in our room. We couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shermer75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

As expected, Eelhouse was an excellent accommodation for our three days vacation!
Our hosts, Vera and Jasper are very helpful and friendly, the location is perfect to visit Amsterdam by foot, the room is spectacular (at least our room, the attic one, small but very comfortable).
Breakfast is delicious and rich, the coffee machine provides you the kick to start the adventure.

Room Tip: Choose the attic room!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Loved everything about the Eelhouse. We stayed 4 nights in July during very hot days, but the room was comfortable with open windows and there is a fan if needed. The location is perfect, in such a beautiful part of the Jordaan neighborhood. (Cafe Restaurant de Reiger is a delicious, fresh, and cozy place to eat that is nearby). We stayed on the top floor and the view was unbeatable and Vera brought our breakfast to our room every morning at exactly the requested time. The breakfast was the freshest and best out of all the places we visited on this trip to several cities. I still miss those delicious croissants. The mini-fridge with water, OJ, beer, and wine is one of those things that puts this b&b above others. Also liked the in room coffee maker. Vera was a very kind hostess. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floor has a great view and less street noise- although it is a pretty quiet street. Downside is all those stairs. Also, the room on the top floor has the mattress close to the floor so it may be difficult to get up from once you crash after all the sight seeing and stairs. If you have bad knees or feet maybe get a more traditional bed on a lower floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen2279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

For my work and business in Amsterdam I went several times to this B&B. Great location in centre of Amsterdam. Every week a warm welcome by the host Jasper or Vera. I stayed in several rooms and every room was very nice. Luxury and clean bath rooms with toilet and shower. Great was the refrigerator with a welcome drinks as wine, beer or water. The rooms have an own water boiler for thee and coffee machine.
The room has an excellent bed with enough pillows and is sleeping very well. The breakfast is included and is very tasteful with orange juice, breads, an egg, and cheese, meet and marmalade. See also the pictures.
I had a pleasant stay in the Eelhouse and wenn I visit Amsterdam again I surtenly Reservate a room here. NE

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Friezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We caught the train to Centraal and walked to Eelhouse. It took around 15 minutes with luggage but you are walking in a beautiful area of Amsterdam and we stopped several times along the way to take photos. The break started for us as soon as we walked out of CS. The hosts send walking directions when booking but we chose to walk up Brouwersgracht alongside the pretty canal rather than walk up Haarlemmerstraat as the instructions suggested which is a busy shopping street.

We were allocated a room on the second floor that was a decent size and had great views down to Westerkerk and over the playground across the road. The room had large shutter type windows and a french doors that could be opened to allow air into the room which was welcome as it was really hot. There is also a blower in the room. The spacious wet room allowed a comfortable shower rather than being cramped for space in some bathrooms. The bed is one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Breakfast consisted of typical Dutch fayre of eggs, cheese, meat, croissants, bread, fruit and yoghurt and there was always too much to eat. The fridge is kept stocked with water, a couple of cans of beer and a bottle of wine which are replaced when used.

The b & b is located in a lovely residential area with a village feel about it yet is only around 6/7 minutes walk to Anne Frank Huis and about another 10 minutes further to Dam Square. There are lots of restaurants within a couple of minutes and the canalside bars and restaurants are 5 minutes away. We walked everywhere around central Amsterdam and didn't find the need to use trams.

On our last day we visited Edam, Volendam and caught the ferry to Marken. We bought a 24 bus ticket for 10 euros that gave unlimited use around Waterland. If you get the chance visit Edam on Wednesday morning for the cheese market. It is popular and I'm sure is put on for the tourists but it was a lovely atmosphere in a pretty village.

If you would like to stay in a large hotel with no character then this is not the place to choose. However, if you prefer a traditional Amsterdam house with loads of character in a lovely area and charming hosts then look no further than Eelhouse. Thanks to Vera and Jasper for a lovely few days.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rowey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews