We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surprise.”

Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet
Ranked #243 of 3,955 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $24
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Red Light District (De Wallen)
Fortaleza, Ceara, Brazil
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great surprise.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Walking arroung the streets I have found this restaurant and it came to my attention because it was a tibetan restaurant and I have never tested.

The food is amazing, a single mix of spices that makes the taste unique.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    184
    46
    13
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“we were the last clients and it was really late”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wandering in red light district, searching for a place to dine at, we found this restaurant. We ordered noodles and enjoyed our meals in silence (we were the last clients and the hostess didn't leave until we finished), watching people pass by the windows. They had disappointed looks - most of them tried the door, attempted to enter seeing us eating, but then they saw the label "Closed" and kept passing by. I can't tell if the meals were really authentic Tibetan or no, I'm not a pro, but I liked the food and the service too. It's pleasant to be a respected last client.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vexierspiegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Used to be absolute favourite”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We dine here on every visit, but with decreasing enthusiasm, unfortunately. I say that with some regret. We used to look forward to eating here so much.

The high points were excellent food, with superb service at an extremely reasonable price. We often dined here more than one each visit.

However, in the last 10 years the price for the exact same evening for us has shot up from €24.95 to €40 a few weeks back. Even considering inflation, that is a heck of an increase.

During the same period, the portion size has diminished by at least 25%. Smaller bowls, not so well filled. Even more regrettably, the quality is also less than it was.

Still worth a visit, but I seriously wish they would return to the values of a decade or so ago, which made Tibet such an absolute treasure in the heart of a very seedy district.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimbo7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great food & great value”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Located in the red light district, just off from the main street along the river. However in the day you wouldn't have known its a red light area, but would not eat there at night! Had the restaurant to ourselves at lunchtime and ate ALOT of food for 2 for £50. Everything we ordered was delicious, couldnt fault any of it. Pretty looking inside and very nice staff, the lady let us sit in their garden round the back for a cig after the meal which was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city, couldnt hear or see anyone just 20m from one of Amsterdams busiest streets. Overall lovely meal but the waiters need to work on their English slightly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomWRDell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food but poor service”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We wanted to try something different and found this restaurant incidentally on the internet and thought we would give it a try - the restaurant is just situated within the red light district so not far to walk from anywhere in the city centre.
The food was ok and if you have never had tibetanese food like us, they offer good value for money menus so you do not have to choose, can relax and sit back :) However, I felt that the restaurant was a little over-crowded, you were just able to squeeze through the tables to sit down, and quiet noisy because of its location. The service was nothing special - not particularly bad but not particularly good either.
One main criticism was the fact that their card machine had broken on that day but instead of letting people know before they sit down and order, we only incidentally found out when coming back from the toilet - this of course meant, that I had to run to the next cash machine which was a bit of a bummer to the dinner which was otherwise ok.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tibetaanse restaurant Tibet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing