We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Absolutely wonderful, better than being at home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful, better than being at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2010

Bernard and Martijne were wonderful hosts, very helpful and kind. My husband and I stayed in the Garden Room for 3 nights while visiting Amsterdam, and we were impressed by the decor. Every detail has been considered: floor heating, doors and blinds for darkening the room for morning time, breakfast in the conservatory, high-speed wireless internet, a nice big bathtub (complete with a selection of bubble baths), tea and coffee, mini-fridge, microwave, bags for bringing leftovers from the terrific breakfast with you.

The location is perfect, as far as we were concerned. The Parkzijde is located right on several tram lines (we used two of them: one straight to the Central Station, the other to Museumplein and the van Gogh museum). Because of its location outside of the center of the city it's very quiet. Oosterpark is a beautiful green space, and it's lovely in the morning walking to the tram listening to the birds in the park.

We very much enjoyed our time at the Parkzijde, and would definitely come back if we were in Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katespace77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
118
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

Marieke was a superb host! She was kind, helpful and very attentive. The accommodations exceeded our expectations. It was spacious, clean, bed was comfy and had great bathroom. The breakfast every morning was wonderful – coffee, juice, fruit, eggs, breads, meat, cheeses, spreads and candies for the bread, etc! The room where your breakfast in had a beautiful view of the garden – it makes you wish you could come back and have breakfast there everyday! There was a laptop computer with internet connection in the room. There was a coffee machine and teapot with an assortment of teas and coffee, along with a mini-fridge to store your snacks or water in. Plenty of tour books and maps were at your disposal. There was a flatscreen TV with plenty of DVDs for you to use if you felt like watching a movie. The location was great (right near tram stations to zip you off to Centraal Station or wherever you want to go quickly and easily). There is a beautiful park right across the street to run or take a stroll in.
We loved staying there and we would definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMDNashville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

We stayed at the Parkzijde last Dezember for 4 nights and everything was just perfect. The warm welcome we received from Martijne and Bernard made us feel at home right away since this was our first vacation without our teenage kids. The room was just beautiful and very very clean and not to mention the great breakfasts Martijne and Bernard served us every morning or should we say breakfast and lunch. The area is perfect. Just a short walk to the Tram or Bus Station. Not only did they help us to learn the tram system, their suggestions for dining and sightseeing were incredible and practical, There are lots of informative reading materials as well and wireless internet access.
Thank you, Martijne and Bernard, for the wonderful experience.
We will stay at the Garden Room when we visit Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MHDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2009

The awards given for this B&B are well deserved. I was made to feel very welcome by the owners Martinje and Bernard and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. Room was large by Amsterdam standards and very comfortably furnished including fridge and laptop with internet which was very handy for checking places to visit, what was on in the evenings etc. Have to say the best was the breakfast. It was quality - plentiful, varied and certainly set you up for the day. Always served with a smile and time given to answer any questions I had. The hosts tuned in to what you liked and also made good suggestions of lesser known places to visit that they thought you'd enjoy. It's just outside the City centre but I walked in most days taking in the Park and the Amstel along the way and in the evenings the trams were very frequent to and from the Leidseplein which is one of the main entertainment areas with concert halls, theatres, cinema, bars and restaurants with live music. The half price ticket shop is also there. Tickets available from 12 noon for that day's performances and the staff gave me some really good recommendations.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlastoChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2009

It was almost a bless to find this B&B on Internet accidentally. Thanks to Martijne and Bernard kindness our stay in Amsterdam has been even better than we expected. We have been so lucky to have stayed in both rooms and all we can say is that they are magical (each one in their own style). We only feel sorry for not having spent more time at the rooms but Amsterdam is wonderful too. We haven't found so many facilities in any other place we have been so far (four and five stars hotels included). But the biggest difference are Bernard and Martijne: they make you feel at home (or even better, especially at breakfast time).
We recommend to the following guests asking Martijne and Bernard anything they want to know about Amsterdam and following their suggestions. The rooms are full of details chosen carefully to enjoy them. Attention to the cups and plates of the breakfast wonderfully hand-painted by Martijne.
And the situation is very good: quiet neighborhood (in front of a park) but easy to get to the downtown (tram, walking, cycling)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarJMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2009

We stayed at Parkzijde in April for 2 nights and it was perfect. We loved this B&B it was more like staying with relatives. The bed was very comfortable the area was perfect - we weren't bothered about being central. The owner were extremely friendly and catered for more than you could wish for. Breakfast was huge, the free internet connection was very useful and bike hire was a bonus. Bernard advised us to take a bike ride to the countryside this was really beautiful. A winner all round. If we go back to Amsterdam we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachaelcrayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2009

We are a "mature" couple who have travelled quite a bit, and this B&B, its location across from OosterPark, and the warm welcome we received from Martijne and Bernard were without parallel among many wonderful B&B stays. What might have been an overwhelming city became one of our favorites. We brought friends who had never stayed anywhere but hotels, and they are convinced that B&B living is the way to go! Both rooms are spacious enough to have suitcases out of the way, are quiet for a good night's sleep, are cooled by air conditioning (while we were there, the temp hit 32 deg Centigrade!), have free computers and high speed internet access, a charming garden, and anything else we might need. Not only did they help us to learn the tram system, their suggestions for dining were forthright and practical, and in their preparation for their guests, provided a myriad little things to make one most comfortable. It was our home away from home, with a superlative breakfast to boot!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandycbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#38 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#32 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#21 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing