We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #31 of 331 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Forres, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent an excellent 3 days in Amsterdam which we found to be clean, efficient and friendly. Parkzijde was a great place to stay, away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre but served by a most efficient tram service. Martijne and Bernard have given much thought to what their guests may want or need which makes their B & B a class above many others. Will certainly stay here again on our next trip to this cosmopolitan city.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    26
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
115
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Me and my daughter had a lovely stay at this charming and personal Bed & Breakfast. It was close to tram, we had our breakfast in our room with always something new added to it and the rooms were comfortable and had a lot of free space. This Bed & Breakfast has a personal and charming touch, the building is beautiful and opposite the street, you can find Osterpark. We would gladly stay here next time we go to Amsterdam, this was lovely.

Room Tip: The Garden Room had a steep stairway, if you have difficulties in walking the Park Room is preferrab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriella S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed at Parkzijde on the 18th & 19th Jan. This was my return visit, and the welcome was as warm as the first time. I was greeted by Bernard & Martijne on my arrival and once again completely felt at home. This time I had the Park Room on the front of the house, which was spotlessly clean and warm

The breakfasts were fantastic too

My hosts weren't intrusive and very much respected my privacy

Good location and easily accessed by the No 9 tram, which stops at the end of the street

Eating tips: Spar90 near B & B and Oosterpark itself. For amazing cakes, try Rene's Croissants down side street near Dam Square Souveniors. Fab!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brisolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Martijne and Bernard were wonderful hosts. They made us feel welcomed from the beginning until the end of our stay. We stayed in the park room it was lovely. Breakfast was amazing every morning. Amsterdam is amazing and when we go back we will definitely stay with Martijne and Bernard again!

Lots of love
Allan&Trinette

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TrinetteK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I was in the Park Room of the b&b for two nights. I am absolutely satisfied with this b&b, especially for the great availability, kindness and efficiency of the hosts. They were very quick to answers the e-mails before and after the reservation. They were also very quick during my staying (it suffices to ring a bell).
I could ask for an iron without any problems. The breakfast was copious. It was possible to communicate the preferred hour for the breakfast of the next day even at 11pm, which was very useful in order to have flexible plans. The tramway passes in the street nearby but I practically didn't notice it.

The room is very beautiful. The only two not excellent things which I am able to remember of: the illumination was not very bright. The table is somehow small (I needed to work using also my laptop at some point).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vito_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peguera, Spain
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I have to be warm and I have to have a good bathroom, which also is warm. Parkzijde hit the right buttons. Martijne and Bernard were gracious hosts and anything which wasn't right they fixed. They were minor problems easily fixed. The bathroom is small, as are most bathrooms in Amsterdam but there was plenty of room and the shower was very modern, hot and had the best pressure I have ever experienced in Amsterdam. A heated two rail made the room lovely and warm and it was useful for drying.The bedroom has everything you need and was large enough for us to feel very comfortable for a week. Two luggage tables are very useful, the wardrobe has hanging and shelf space and a safe. There is a TV (we didn't have much success with channels but the DVDs were all we needed to get us to sleep), DVD, kettle, coffee maker, fridge, laptop and plenty of books/leaflets on Amsterdam.Breakfast was super and varied and we couldn't eat it all. Probably could have managed without the croissants AND bread every day and to eat Pilchards in tomato for breakfast was certainly different. I had it more than once so must have enjoyed it! Slices of cheese, ham, yogurts, cereal, crispbreads,eggs. All in varying quantities and not everything every day of course. There is a microwave downstairs which you can use to eat meals in your room. Amsterdam is NOT cheap so it is useful. There is a long road to the left of the hotel which has many ethnic take aways and there are bars and restaurants nearby, especially on the main road to the right of the hotel. Your hosts can recommend eating places around the corner in the square, two minutes away. Also minutes away is the Dappermarket and Troppen Museum and the zoo is on the walk into the city. The hotel is on a main road and tram route but is remarkably quiet. It IS a long walk to the city but the tram takes only a few minutes. However if you were on a very short trip a hotel nearer or in the city would be better. We walked to the city every day, there are several routes and there is always something to see. To get to the hotel from the train station, take the number 9 tram and turn left off it when at Oosterpark, then turn immediately right by the park (the birds like feeding during the day!). Walk three quarters way up and there is a pedestrian crossing, cross over (pedestrian lights do not work at night, only flash amber to warn drivers), Parkzijde is on the left covered in greenery. We could certainly have stayed longer and will definitely stay here again if we are lucky enough to visit that beautiful city again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VanessaMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Parkzijde was the best place we have stayed in our trips! Everything was carefully and delicately prepared for us by Martijne and Bernard, two great hosts. Of course one of the highlights of the stay were the breakfasts in the room that were actually more like brunches. Everything was very clean and confortable. The house is localized in a pleasant street, near Oosterpark, very close to tram stops and in a walkable distance to the center of the city. If it was possible I would rate this place with 6 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#35 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
De Pijp
BB by Servio
BB by Servio
#36 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
Bed and Breakfast Amsterdam
#26 of 331 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Breitner House
#9 of 331 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 331 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing