We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've expected to find a nice B&B. But this has by far exceeded my expectations! The rooms are great, the service as well, the owners are nice, friendly and helpful - but it's the little details that really make the difference. The DVD-collection at the entrance, coffee and tea for free and always at hand, plastic bags for take-away food, microwave, and actually lots more. And to have a large breakfast (customized to one's wishes) in the privacy of one's own "dining room" with the perfect view of the garden ... priceless! Probably one of the best B&Bs that I've ever visited.

Room Tip: I've stayed in the garden room. It's great, but I really believe that the other room is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ursa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 222 reviews

Reviewed December 10, 2012

The owners Martijne and Bernard were on their annual leave and we had the gracious Martijne Bernard's sister to look after us during our stay of three nights.

Our room at the front of the house was on the ground floor and a good size and well appointed. Everything was clean and the bed comfortable.

Breakfast each morning was enough to feed us for lunch as well, we had read this in previous reports. It was great having the facilities downstairs to heat some food up that we had brought back with us.

The tram was just walking distance about 500 metres which enabled us to get into the city proper easily. We also enjoyed walks in the big park opposite.

We'd certainly return to this B & B when visiting Amsterdam again.

Room Tip: Ask for the front room if you don't want the stairs down to the other room. Not too many stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosiegirl_59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We found Parkzijde to be as good as all the reviews and photos suggest, with Martijne and Bernard as attentive, thoughtful hosts. The paintings and ornaments are lovely, some painted by Martijne herself. We liked having breakfast in the room - once served, we were left to enjoy it at our own pace. There are various ways to walk into the city or it is easy to catch a tram, which gets you there quickly and efficiently. There are also local restaurants in both directions, which saves having to go back into the heart of the city after the end of a busy day's sightseeing. The location gives the opportunity to feel part of the local neighbourhood. We want to go back soon!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanL65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in June. Our stay was better than we ever could have imagined! Martijne and Bernard were very kind and helpful. The room was very nice and clean. We loved having breakfast brought to us each morning. There was always enough food with the breakfast to have leftovers for lunch and a snack! We highly recommend staying at the Parkzijde and hope that we have the chance to return someday!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Had a great stay at this b&b. Easy to get to the city on the tram which is close by. Hired bikes and rode around the city, which I highly recommend. Loved the breakfast. Was provided with lots of information about Amsterdam plus maps of the city. They even had DVDs for the guests to watch. Fabulous place. Thanks marieke!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jorgorange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent two nights at this B&B. Bernard was on holiday, so his sweet sister was our host. We arrived from the cruise port, via Tram 9 dropped off our luggage and set off to see the sites. When we returned mid-afternoon Marika (I hope I've spelled this correctly) met with us and ensured we could operate the cable TV system, pointed out a small guest kitchenette, gave us on overview on the neighborhood. Before dinner, we hopped across the street for a relaxing stroll through the park to increase our appetites.

The room itself was spacious, the bed comfortable, the shower HOT and hard. If I had complaints about the room it would be the low lighting level in the bathroom. Our room faced the front of the building, but we were not disturbed by traffic or street noise. After stays in various small hotels during our stay, I really appreciated that our room was virtually at street level, only a handful of steps to deal with. As others have commented the breakfast is over the top. We too made sandwiches for lunch from our leftovers. We also thought having juice available in the mini-frig was a nice touch. Because we had an early flight, Marika secured a taxi for us and prepared a breakfast for us the night before our departure...great service.

The location of the B&B is a mixed blessing. Although, one needs to take the tram or public transportation to access the sites, it is away from the noise, trash and congestion of the tourist areas. The neighborhood is residential, with mixture of ethnicities..

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What a find! everything about this place is great. When we arrived we were greeted by Bernard & Martijne and after being shown to our room,they pointed out on the map the best place to park and gave us lots of information on the local trams, and even sold us tickets to use on the trams, which was very handy, the trams stopped at either end of their street. The location is convenient for local shops, bars and resturants, we took their recommendation on two evenings and both times the food was great. The breakfast is delicious and there was enough to take out for a midday snack. The room was clean, comfortable and spacious. The five minute tram ride was a small price to pay for being in a small oasis away from the noise and bustle on Amsterdam centre. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Breitner House
#14 of 338 in Amsterdam
226 reviews
Prinsenstede Lodging Amsterdam
#72 of 338 in Amsterdam
52 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#31 of 338 in Amsterdam
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
924 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
Boogaard's Bed and Breakfast
#13 of 338 in Amsterdam
955 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#30 of 338 in Amsterdam
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $93 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The Park room, where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. This room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. The old atmosphere of both rooms is combined with every modern luxury like air conditioning, very fast wifi, laptop, microwave, backoven, cooler etc. Each room has a private ‘en suite’ bathroom. Breakfast, service and all taxes are included in the price (all-in). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing