We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like my own Dutch apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Like my own Dutch apartment”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

As a solo traveler, this was my first time to Amsterdam. With many hotel options, my choice to stay at this B&B was a suitable one considering travel time and budget especially since I went for New Years.

I stayed in the Park room. The room was adorable and very comfortable for just me – in fact more than enough space for me. My room was toward the front of the house so street noise was not an issue and I loved looking out the window seeing the beautiful Oosterpark across the street. Bed was super comfy, the bathroom was a good size, breakfast was served in my room every morning and the amenities were great. It felt like I had my own flat in Amsterdam. Plus I liked the freedom of coming and going at any time.

Martijne & Bernard rock! They were extremely friendly and accomodating. They greeted me all the time and provided great restaurant recommendations as well as helped with overall directions and city suggestions.

Location couldn’t be more ideal as least in the mindset of getting around the city. The B&B is 10 minutes by tram outside from Amsterdam center and I thought it was perfect. After I saw the center, I was so thrilled I did not stay in the tourist center plus I got a chance to be in a quiet local residential area. There are two tram stops – one at each side of the park and 2 minute walk. It was easy to jump on and go to the center, to Van Gogh and Riks musuems and more.

Overall, this B&B met my expectations, I was very pleased with my stay and I totally recommend it. Can’t wait to return!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    28
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
30
133
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Parkzijde is a lovely B&B very comfortable and relaxing after a days sightseeing, we stayed for 3 nights in the Garden room perfect with a lovely breakfast in the conservatory to start the day and a deep bath to soak away aches at the end. Martijne and Bernard were very kind and helpful and have put a lot of thought into providing for their guests. We bought a 4 day tram/bus pass at the tourist information Central Station for €19.50 ( well worth it) hopped on and off constantly, also went on city bike tour with Mike's Bikes €19 for 3hr great fun. We will definitely return to lovely Amsterdam and the ''home from home' Parkzijde.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PembrokeshirePuffins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Parkzijde B&B is everything you wish for when you traveling abroad and have to stay in a hotel/B&B. Hosts are fantastic. Gave us a warm welcome and help with anything we needed.
We stayed in Garden Room and it was great! Very romantic (beautiful lights in a garden at night, relaxing breakfast in the morning by the window overlooking the pond etc.) Room had very comfortable bed and modern bathroom. As we had laptop and free access to Wi-Fi, we could plan our daily walks and museum visits when we arrived and book all the tickets (and print them off for free). Attention to details and accommodating all of our needs without even expressing them is what makes this place so special. There was nothing I would change in our stay in Parkzijde and we will be back there soon!

Room Tip: The Garden Room is perfect for a city break for a couple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I think that Parkzijde is a place where you can get everything you need - cosy and comfortable rooms, great location, nice people and really, really delicious food :-).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaunaLaukr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have looked for the quiet place for me and my friend to stay during the conference that took place in Amsterdam. We have stayed 5 nights in Park room. I may say that it was great experience: so tasty breakfast, so comfortable and clean room and many little things that made atmosphere warm and welcoming! Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikt0rija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester UK
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked both rooms for our 3 night stay. The stay exceeded our expecations (which were already very high due to the positive reviews on here) and I would like to go back to the Parkzijde the next time I am lucky enough to go back to Amsterdam. Breakfast was lovely and our hosts were fabulous. Best regards to both of them.

Room Tip: get a tram card and use the tram extensively - it is a great way to travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrssmiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Great location, clean and comfortable room, nice people.

Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#35 of 336 in Amsterdam
324 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#27 of 336 in Amsterdam
752 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 336 in Amsterdam
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Breitner House
#10 of 336 in Amsterdam
224 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#104 of 336 in Amsterdam
254 reviews
Ozo Hotel
#75 of 336 in Amsterdam
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast

Property: Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
Address: Oosterpark 53, 1092 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You find Parkzijde in front of the beautiful Oosterpark, just outside the busy city-center. The elegant house (1892) still remains conserved in its original style. The “Goede Kamer” (“good room”), where former residents used to welcome their guests, has a high decorated ceiling and marble chimney. The room at ground floor has a view of the park. The Garden room is located at the rear of the house and has access to its own conservatory, overlooking our garden. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing