We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, effecient, AUTHENTIC bed and breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #95 of 336 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Idaho
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, effecient, AUTHENTIC bed and breakfast”
Reviewed January 26, 2010

My husband and I started off our honeymoon in Amsterdam and we couldn't have stayed at a better place. First off, Novella upgraded us to the family suite as her gift to us for our stay. She was very warm and welcoming and made us feel right at home.
The suite was large with a great kitchen and bathroom. The views are absolutely beautiful and you are on a quiet street where no cars can go through.
Breakfast was delicious. Everything was so fresh and it was definitely the best breakfast we ate during our 2 weeks of travel throughout Europe. The help is very friendly as will offer great advice about what to go see and do.
Amsterdam is an amazing, lively, beautiful city. My husband and I fell in love with it and plan on going back someday and we would not even think of staying anywhere else but The Blue Sheep.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vandal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We are a young couple. We stayed at the Blue Sheep in Dec 2009 for 4 nights.
We had the green room, it was exactly as requested: really warm and absolutely quiet. - We loved it!
The bathroom has to be shared, but is comfortable as yours with a cool shower!
The owners Ian and Novella are very courteous and lovely hosts, the breakfast was rich and delightful-
The house is a typical Amsterdam building with nice antique features very nice! -We did love the steep stairs! (Moreover they are not too steep and they are just few and everyone should enjoy some fitness! - )
The B&B is well located in a posh area close to all amenities. 5 minutes from the railway station
We do recommend this B&B to everyone who wishes to have a nice and relaxed stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCats7172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Fantastic, charming and unique. We stayed at the orange room for 2 nights, and it had a very comfy bed, it was clean and had a good atmosphere (no windows though, but still, okay for 2 nights..). Excellent breakfast. So the next time we drop by, we will try another room, or maybe the suits.
Thanks for a nice stay :D

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AaseKristin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novorossiysk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2010

Thanks to Novella, Jan and Edgar for the warmest hospitality! and your kind attention to all our whims:)

We stayed 8 nights in a separate (and also very old and charming) house just 10 meters from The Blue Sheep, in a spacious and light suite on the top 3rd floor. Windows everywhere - roof and all walls. Nice view to the neighbouring streets made of various old buildings (pix enclosed). We really enjoyed coming home and having a dinner in our cosy room.

Only one real problem we had was a suddenly broken kettle replaced by Jan at our request within 5 min (although it was about 11 p.m. then).

Great location. Quiet narrow streets crossed by bicycles and frequent car:
- several minutes walk from Central Station;
- 2 min to the next tram/bus stop;
- 1 min to Red Lights district (not those well-known streets about 15-20 minutes walking but as well with a mix of tens of private entrepreneurs 8-);
- 1 min to the coffee-shops, bars and cafes;
- 1 min to one of the main shopping streets;
- 3 min to Albert Hein supermarket and so on...

If you are on Sunday, don't miss a chance to listen to organ in the morning, as we did :-(
The church is about 5 minutes, Jan will explain how to find it.

...and best wishes to our dear Moscow American teacher we met at breakfast))

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v0v04ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The Blue Sheep B & B is a dream come true. This delightful Dutch home is beautifully, artistically, and lovingly restored in a wonderful, central, Amsterdam location. Perfect hosts. Charming room. Amazing bathroom. Delicious breakfast. Everything about the Blue Sheep is simply lovely... but PLEASE don't tell anybody! We want there to be availability next time we are in town!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wandervoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2010

The Blue Sheep is a terrific B & B on a quiet (no cars) side street in the heart of Amsterdam. The minute I entered the house I was warmly greeted by Novella, the owner of the place, along with her Italian mother who was in town for the holidays and made to feel instantly at home. The next morning at breakfast, I met Novella's husband, John, who gave me the ins and outs of the city and invited me along with a young Russian couple who were also at the breakfast table to come over for some limoncello that evening. As a solo traveler, it was really nice to feel like part of a family on the last leg of my weeklong journey.

If you enjoy the B & B experience, the Blue Sheep is the place to stay in Amsterdam. I styayed in the main house in the comfortable (though slightly chilly) Blue Room, but there are off-site suites available as well. For me, alone, being in the main house perfect, but couple may prefer the privacy of being in one of the suites. Wonderful breakfast spread available for all guests orchestrated by the ever helpful Eddie. Two very cute dogs.

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coolpapabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2009

I'just back from my first trip to Amsterdam and I want to spend some words on The Blue Sheep B&B. The location of the B&B is perfect for enjoying the city, it's a peaceful and typical quarter very near to the city center (5min by foot) but not bothered by crowd and noise during the night. In a few minutes by foot it 's possible to reach coffe shops, restaurants, the central railway station and the red lights zone.
We were 7 friends and we slept in two mini-apartments located in a separate building, just 30 meters far form the main B&B structure. As we slept in a separate building, we were completely free of coming and going during day and night.
The owners (Novella and her husband) are very kind, the apartments were nice and comfortable, not so big but large enough, well equipped and clean: they would be ok even for a stay lasting more than a few days and even for couples with children.
In two words: we felt like home and had the feeling that the value for money was very good compared to the average in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riccio77Ferrara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
Singel Hotel Amsterdam
#162 of 368 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Max Brown Hotel Canal District
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 368 in Amsterdam
5,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Tropen Hotel
#138 of 368 in Amsterdam
829 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#134 of 368 in Amsterdam
2,384 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#178 of 368 in Amsterdam
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 336 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing