We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“We loved the Blue Sheep and Novella!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Ranked #71 of 329 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dacula, Georgia
1 review
“We loved the Blue Sheep and Novella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We really had a wonderful time in Amsterdam thanks to Novella! While we only stayed one night, the ambiance of the Blue Sheep was perfect: the room was clean and cozy, the owners were welcoming, helpful, and accommodating. In fact, we overslept and missed our scheduled breakfast time, but Novella was extremely kind and still allowed us to have breakfast that morning. Overall, outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brunie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    77
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
75
166
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent four nights at the The Blue Sheep. We were greeted by the two dogs and the owners. They made sure we had a good time in their city as they spent time advising us about good places to eat, great things to see and things to do around the area. Everyday when we came back from our travels they were interested in what we had done that day. The breakfasts were terrific. We could not have asked for a better location or a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmkoping, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We just loved this little place with the nice staff and the two charmy dogs. It was homelike in a wonderful area of Amsterdam. The hostess recommended us the most charming restaurants in the neighborhood and we hade some wonderful experiences. The breakfast was delicious. We would really like to recommend this bed&breakfast. Look for The Blue Sheep in Facebook! /Anette and Christer Holmqvist from Sweden

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnetteHolmqvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

The staff is super nice! A charming couple that take really good care of their customers. Breakfast was fantastic. We got an apartment studio a few blocks from the blue sheep building that was super nice, modern and clean equipped with coffee machine and tea. We requested a big bed and the hosts went out of their way to get us this studio. They walked us to the apartment and made sure we were all set. They recommended great restaurants and tourist attractions. Thanks so much for making our first visit to Amsterdam so amazing :) I highly recommend them!! Book in advance.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Floatify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Blue Sheep. Our room was clean and cozy and Willem and Novella and the staff made us feel comfortable. The breakfasts were yummy and just what we wanted: coffee and fresh juice, delicious waffles and granola and hearty bread. Good company too. Everyone went out of their way for us. When I needed to see a doctor for an unexpected illness Willem and Novella didn't hesitate to call their family physician for me, a kind gesture that put me at ease and that put my health, and trip, back on track. Big thanks!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vildeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

What a wonderful experience. Jan and Novella are fabulous hosts. The location is perfect and the apartment was spacious and clean. I will definitely stay at the Blue Sheep again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rouzell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Me and two girlfriends arrived Friday midday and were shown to our beautiful room/apartment on the top floor of the building. We were so happy with it and felt we'd really struck gold.
We left all our stuff there and went out. We got back at around 3am ( we WERE in Amsterdam) only to find that the key to our door didn't work. Naturally, paying £160 a night, we decided we didn't want to sleep on the stairs and so called the hotel owners. Here is where the trouble started. The lady was so incredibly rude to us at first stating "it was not possible" and then attempting to end the conversation with "well I'm sorry we're asleep". Eventually she sent her husband round who was equally rude. Now I understand that it's annoying to get woken up at 3am, but I'm sorry, were paying for this hotel room, the ONE function we require of it is for the door to open to let us in, and when that doesn't happen as the owner you must expect to be contacted to fix the problem, whatever the time. So on finding that it was in fact possible and the door was indeed not working, the husband did cheer up a bit and was apologetic. He showed the three of us to a double room with a big bed that the three of us could sleep in, which was fine.
The next day he had to cut a hole in the door to get in which meant our room was unsecured for a couple of hours while he got something to block the hole. Again, fine, we understood and were grateful that he admitted he didn't know what had happened and told us he was sorry for the inconvenience. He was very pleasant at the point and we genuinely had forgotten the whole incident by the next day.
3 wonderful days passed in our lovely apartment and then it was time to leave.
When we came to pay we were charged full price. As it was an employee we hadn't yet encountered we thought maybe he wasn't aware if the situation so we asked him to call the owner, the lady, to apply our discount. However, when he called she said that we had broken the door and would therefore have to pay for the repairs and by being charged full price that should cover it. We were horrified!! If closing the door is breaking it then yes, we broke it, but clearly, and in fact by her own husbands admission, we had NOT broken the door and she was being completely unreasonable. We saw that we were not going to get any money off. So even though we had paid for an apartment and got an hour long wait on the stairs and ended up in a double room without a window, which I personally think any self respecting hotel owner would have wavered the price of the first night for, we had to pay full price to cover the cost of fixing a door that we did not break.
We were so happy with the room when we first got there, and enthusiastically talked about bringing our boyfriends back to stay in the New York apartment and recommending the place to all our friends, but I'm afraid after this incident I won't be recommending the place to anyone which is a real shame and a bit of a downer on a fantastic long weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daniellesimon1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9lla, Owner at The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thanx for staying with us! To make a long story short: The fact is that there were 3 complete drunken/stoned girls (and we know how English tourist can behave in Amsterdam! :-)) who wake us up in the middle of the night who couldn't open the door. Vomiting 2 times in front of the apartment and my door and breaking a lock of the apartment.
We preserved the service to get it open again, like described. The full charge is not more then reasonable, we didn't charge them for the damage of the lock, but we also didn't feel responsible for giving them a discount because they were completely out of there mind on the moment they ruined the lock. We like to take care of our guest, but when you pass the limit of "normal behavior" you have to be also responsible for that as a guest.

Jan , Novella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#153 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Posthoorn
The Posthoorn
#26 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 843 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Old Lady
The Old Lady
#47 of 329 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam

Property: The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam
Address: Korsjespoortsteeg 3, 1015 AP Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 329 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Blue Sheep Bed & Breakfast Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blue Sheep Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing